Troy Named ASCA Coach Of The Year > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Troy Named ASCA Coach Of The Year

    INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - University of Florida head swimming coach Gregg Troy was voted the American Swimming Coaches Association Coach of the Year, the organization announced Thursday. Troy, who is the second UF swim coach to be awarded the honor (Randy Reese, 1979 and 1984), was previously named the 2010 NCAA Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year and the 2010 SEC Men’s Swim Coach of the Year earlier this year.

    "It's a tremendous honor to be named the Coach of the Year by the ASCA," Troy said. "With that said, this award truly represents the talented student-athletes we had in our program last year as well as the tremendous coaching staff I had around me. I especially want to thank associate head coaches Anthony Nesty and Martyn Wilby, as well as strength and conditioning coordinator Matt DeLancey, who were instrumental in our success this past season."

    Under Troy’s leadership, the United States men’s team finished first in the overall standings last month at the 2010 Mutual of Omaha Pan Pacific Championships in Irvine, Calif. As the head coach of the men’s squad, Troy additionally helped coach former Gator All-American Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fla.) to a meet-high six gold medals and the Swimmer of the Meet award at the year’s biggest international meet.

    For the Gators, this past year was one for the record books under Troy’s guidance. The Florida women took home the school’s first National Championship in 28 years. Led by two national championship performances and five school records, the 2009-10 squad pulled out a close victory over second-place finisher Stanford on March 20.

    Florida scored 382 points, edging out the Cardinal (279.5) in the second-closest NCAA competition ever. A total of 12 All-Americans coached by Troy tallied 36 All-America performances on the Purdue campus at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center.
    While Troy coached the women’s team to its most complete Championship meet in recent history, the 2010 men’s swimming team rallied for its seventh top-five NCAA finish in Troy’s tenure at Florida. The men’s squad scored the most points in Florida history to finish fifth at the NCAA meet on the Ohio State campus after tallying 364 points with leverage from three national titles and five top-eight relay finishes.

    Then-junior Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill.) was named the men’s Division I National Men’s Swimmer of the Year, while recently graduated Shaune Fraser (George Town, Grand Cayman) recorded one first and two second-place finishes. Troy coached Fraser to seven All-America honors in 2009-10, giving Fraser 27 All-America honors, the most for a single men’s swimmer or diver in school history.

    Ten other Gators collaborated with Fraser to collectively notch 38 All-America performances to highlight the 2010 campaign.
    Additionally, Troy led both the 2010 Gator squads to second-place finishes at the 2010 SEC Championship meet, Florida’s 10th-straight top-three finish on both the men’s and women’s side.

    Since 1961, the ASCA Coach of the Year Award is given annually to the individual whose coaching effectiveness has contributed the most towards American Swimming Excellence at the World Level. The Award recipient is elected by the ASCA Board of Directors. Nominees are submitted by a three person committee appointed by the ASCA President at the previous year’s World Clinic Board Meeting and chaired by the ASCA Vice-President. Nominees shall be ASCA Members at the time of the presentation of the Award.

    1961    James Counsilman
    1962    Peter Daland
    1963    Dick Smith
    1964    George Haines
    1965    Don Gambril
    1966    George Haines
    1967    George Haines
    1968    Sherm Chavoor
    1969    Jim Montrella
    1970    Don Watson
    1971    Jim Montrella
    1972    George Haines
    1973    Bob Miller
    1974    Dick Jochums
    1975    Mark Schubert
    1976    Mark Schubert
    1977    Paul Bergen
    1978    Paul Bergen
    1979    Randy Reese
    1980    Dennis Pursley
    1981    Mark Schubert
    1982    Dick Shoulberg
    1983    John Collins
    1984    Randy Reese
    1985    Nort Thornton
    1986    Richard Quick
    1987    Bud McAllister
    1988    Bud McAllister
    1989    Dick Shoulberg
    1990    John Urbanchek
    1991    Eddie Reese
    1992    Richard Quick
    1993    Skip Kenney
    1994    Rick Curl
    1995    John Urbanchek
    1996    Murray Stephens
    1997    Mark Schubert
    1998    Richard Quick
    1999    Richard Quick and Mark Schubert
    2000    Peter Banks
    2001    Bob Bowman
    2002    Teri McKeever
    2003    Bob Bowman
    2004    Eddie Reese
    2005    Eddie Reese
    2006    Eddie Reese
    2007    Bob Bowman
    2008    Bob Bowman
    2009    Eddie Reese
    2010    Gregg Troy