SEC Softball Tournament Field Set > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Softball Tournament Field Set

    SEC Softball Tournament Central

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its 2011 Softball Tournament field Sunday with No. 6/5 Alabama claiming the No. 1 seed.  The tournament will be hosted by the University of Mississippi at the Ole Miss Softball Complex, May 12-14 in Oxford, Miss.  The entire tournament will be televised live on the ESPN family of networks.   The three quarterfinal games and the semifinals will air on ESPNU, while the fourth quarterfinal game will air on ESPN2 and the championship game will air primetime on ESPN at 7:00 CT.  

    The Crimson Tide clinched their second consecutive, third overall, SEC title with a 10-1 win over Ole Miss on Sunday and will make their 15th consecutive SEC Tournament appearance.  Eastern Division champions, the Florida Gators earned the No. 2 seed after a come from behind weekend to sweep Tennessee and clinched their fourth Eastern Division title.  The Gators will also make their 15th consecutive SEC tournament appearance.  Mississippi State returns to the tournament for the first time since 2008.  

    On Thursday, May 12, the No. 3 seed Tennessee Lady Vols (44-10, 20-8 SEC) will open up the tournament against No. 6 seed Kentucky (36-13, 14-9 SEC) at 11:00 a.m. (CT), followed by No. 2 seed Florida (47-8, 21-7 (SEC) and No. 7 seed Auburn at 1:30 p.m. (CT).  The evening session will feature No. 4 LSU (38-15, 19-9 SEC) vs. No. 5 seed Georgia (44-10, 17-9 SEC) at 4:00 p.m. (CT) and the No. 1 seed Alabama (45-7, 19-6 SEC) will take on No. 8 seed Mississippi State (24-31, 10-18 SEC) in the nightcap at 7:00 p.m. (CT).

    Covering the games will be ESPN’s softball crew of Beth Mowins, Michele Smith, Jessica Mendoza and Cara Capuano. will be live at the tournament as well, with exclusive online coverage behind the scenes. 
    The championship game can also be heard live on XM radio. The channel will be announced Monday.  Tickets for the single-elimination tournament can be purchased through the Ole Miss Athletic Ticket Office by visiting      

    2011 Tournament Bracket

    Thursday, May 12
    Game 1: #3 Tennessee vs. #6 Kentucky (ESPNU)  11:00 a.m. 
    Game 2: #2 Florida vs. #7 Auburn (ESPNU) 1:30 p.m.
    Game 3: #4 LSU vs. #5 Georgia (ESPNU) 4:00 p.m.
    Game 4: #1 Alabama vs. #8 Mississippi State (ESPN2) 6:30 p.m.

    Friday, May 13 (Semifinals)
    Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner (ESPNU) 2:00 p.m.
    Game 6: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (ESPNU) 4:30 p.m.

    Saturday, May 14
    Championship Game (ESPN) 7:00 p.m.

    All times are Central