SEC Announces 2011 Softball Awards > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Announces 2011 Softball Awards

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its annual softball awards to cap off the 2011 season and kick off the SEC Softball Tournament in Oxford, Miss., May 12-14.  The All-SEC Teams consist of 24 total student-athletes, along with a 12-member All-Freshman team and a nine-member All-Defensive Team, however, no ties were broken.  The University of Florida’s Kelsey Bruder was named Player of the Year while the University of Alabama’s Kelsi Dunne earned Pitcher of the Year honors. There was a tie for Coach of the Year as Florida’s Tim Walton and LSU’s Yvette Girouard were selected for the honors.  Freshman of the Year was awarded to the University of Tennessee’s Ellen Renfroe and the University of Kentucky’s Meagan Aull was voted Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  The awards were voted on by the league’s coaches.

    Bruder becomes the third Florida player to earn this honor, the first since 2006.  She recorded at least one hit in 25 of 28 conference games in 2011 and started all 28 at left field.  The senior connected for a team-leading12 multi-hit games in SEC play, with an extra-base hit in 18 of the 28 contests; also has a UF-leading 11 multi-RBI games in league action. Bruder leads the SEC in runs (32), doubles (10), slugging percentage (.883), hits (40), RBI (36), home runs (11).  She also tallied a league-leading 83 total bases and is also ranked second in SEC play in batting clip (.426)      

    This marks the second consecutive honor for Dunne, who earned four wins against Top 25 league opponents, including three wins against top 12 teams and two against the top-ranked team. The senior leads the league in strikeouts and ranks second in wins and opponents batting average.  She is fielding a perfect 1.000 in the circle and has struck out 10 or more on six different occasions.       

    Walton received Coach of the Year honors by guiding the Gators to their fourth consecutive SEC Eastern Division title and posting a 21-7 record in the league.  This is the third honor for Walton.  He earned honors in 2008 and 2009.  LSU’s Girouard picks up her fourth honor, the most by any coach in conference history.  She earned it outright in 2001 and co-honors in 2002 and 2006.  Girouard is retiring after this season, after more than 30 years of coaching DI softball and 11 years at LSU.

    Tennessee’s Renfroe leads the SEC in ERA at 1.20, is second in strikeouts (118), fourth in victories (10) and innings pitched (93.0) in league contests.  She owns SEC wins over ranked conference squads #1 Alabama, #2 Georgia, #22 Auburn (two wins), #19 LSU (two wins) as well as South Carolina, Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Arkansas. In 13 starts in SEC play, Renfroe has thrown 10 complete games with four solo shutouts, allowing opponents to hit at a .193 clip. She has struck out 10 or more batters four times in league play, including a staggering 20 in a 10 inn. win over #22 Auburn. In the process she became the only Tennessee pitcher besides Monica Abbott to strikeout 20 or more in a single game.

    Aull earned scholar-athlete honors by posting a 3.87 GPA in Biology.  The senior batted .371 on the season and .373 in SEC action; She has started all 216 games of her career in centerfield and was named the SEC Player of the Week on April 4 after blasting four home runs in a series sweep of top-five ranked Florida. Her efforts have helped lead UK to its highest national ranking in school history, and three consecutive 30 win seasons. She is also a two-time All-SEC Academic team member and a two-time NFCA Scholar Athlete.  

    A complete listing of the 2011 SEC Softball postseason awards follows:

    2011 SEC Softball Awards

    First Team All-SEC

    P - Kelsi Dunne, Alabama
    P - Brittany Mack, LSU
    IF - Whitney Larsen, Alabama
    IF - Megan Bush, Florida
    IF - Alisa Goler, Georgia
    IF - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
    OF - Kayla Braud, Alabama
    OF - Kelsey Bruder, Florda
    OF - Megan Wiggins, Georgia
    OF - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
    C - Megan Yocke, Kentucky
    DP/U - Brittany Schutte, Florida

    Second Team All-SEC
    P - Hannah Rogers, Florida
    P - Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee
    IF - Aja Paculba, Florida
    IF - Brianna Hesson, Georgia
    IF - Kara Dill, Kentucky
    IF - Anissa Young, LSU
    OF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida
    OF - Taylor Schlopy, Georgia
    OF - Meagan Aull, Kentucky
    OF - Kelly Grieve, Tennessee
    C - Ashley Razey, Georgia
    DP/U - Amanda Locke, Alabama

    Freshman All-SEC
    P - Hannah Rogers, Florida
    P - Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee
    IF - Kaila Hunt, Alabama
    IF - Cheyenne Coyle, Florida
    IF - Emily Jolly, Kentucky
    IF - Madison Shipman, Tennessee
    OF - Simone Heyward, LSU
    OF - RT Cantillo, Ole Miss
    OF - Brianna Bell, Mississippi State
    C - Sam Lenahan, Mississippi State
    DP/U - Morgan Estell, Auburn

    SEC All-Defensive
    P - Kelsi Dunne, Alabama;
    P - Hannah Rogers, Florida
    C - Kendall Dawson, Alabama
    1B - Brianna Hesson, Georgia
    2B - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
    SS - Whitney Larsen, Alabama
    3B - Alisa Goler, Georgia
    LF - Megan Wiggins, Georgia
    CF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida; Kelly Grieve, Tennessee
    RF - Jazlyn Lunceford, Alabama

    Player of the Year
    Kelsey Bruder, Florida

    Pitcher of the Year
    Kelsi Dunne, Alabama

    Co-Coaches of the Year
    Tim Walton, Florida; Yvette Girouard, LSU

    Freshman of the Year
    Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee

    Scholar-Athlete of the Year
    Meagan Aull, Kentucky