SEC Sends Three To College Hall Of Fame > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Sends Three To College Hall Of Fame

    NEW YORK, May 17, 2011 - From the national ballot of 79 candidates and a pool of hundreds of eligible nominees, Archie Manning, chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, announced today the 2011 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision Class, which includes the names of 14 First Team All-America players and two legendary coaches.


    PLAYERS (SEC Players Only)
    •    CARLOS ALVAREZ - WR, Florida (1969-71)
    •    MARTY LYONS - DT, Alabama (1975-78)
    •    JAKE SCOTT - DB, Georgia (1967-68)

    University of Florida
    Wide Receiver, 1969-71

    A first-ballot College Football Hall of Famer, Carlos Alvarez remains one of the most prolific players in Florida history and becomes the sixth Gator to enter college football's ultimate shrine.

    Alvarez made his mark early in Gainesville, setting single-season records for receptions (88), yards (1,329) and touchdown catches (12) en route to becoming the youngest player to ever make the AFCA All-America team. He also made more All-America teams as a sophomore than any player since Doak Walker in 1947. The two-time All-SEC pick ranks second in school history with 172 career grabs, holds the Florida's all-time mark with 2,563 receiving yards and places among the top ten with 19 touchdown catches. He also holds the school record with 25 consecutive contests with a reception.

    A three-time Academic All-America honoree, Alvarez was the first three-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll in school history. He was awarded an NCAA Merit Post-Graduate Scholarship and graduated Summa Cum Laude from Duke Law School. He is a member of Florida's All-Century Team, a member of the Florida-Georgia Game Hall of Fame, the GTE Academic All-American Hall of Fame.

    A practicing lawyer in Tallahassee, Fla., Alvarez has served on the U.S. District Court, the U.S. Court of Appeals, the U.S. Claims Court, the Florida Elections Commission and the Second Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission, among others. He has claimed the Jose Marti Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Cuban Community from the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare, and he was named the SMU School of Law's Outstanding Professor in 1980. He has also received keys to the city in Miami and Tampa.

    University of Alabama
    Defensive Tackle, 1975-78

    Unquestionably one of the most accomplished defenders in Alabama's hallowed history, Marty Lyons built a stellar legacy, which earned him spots as a member of the Crimson Tide's All-Centennial Team and on the Southeastern Conference's All-1970s Team.

    A consensus All-American in 1978, Lyons enjoyed considerable success under College Football Hall of Fame coach Paul "Bear" Bryant. The Crimson Tide compiled a 42-6 mark and finished 24-2 in SEC play during Lyons' tenure in Tuscaloosa. Lyons was a member of four bowl winners, including the 1975, 1978 and 1979 Sugar bowls, helping the Crimson Tide win their 10th national title in 1978. For his career, Lyons compiled 202 tackles, 20 sacks, 11 tackles for loss, five forced fumbles and six fumble recoveries. In addition to earning All-America honors as a senior, he was a two-time All-SEC player and was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 1978. Lyons was also placed on the SEC All-Decade Team and the Alabama Centennial Team.

    Lyons was selected in the first round (14th overall) of the 1979 NFL Draft by the New York Jets. He spent his full career in New York, appearing in 147 games over 11 seasons. He was selected to two Pro Bowls and was named the NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year in 1984. He is a member of the Jets' 1980s All-Decade Team. Lyons currently serves as Senior Vice President of Operations at the LandTek Group, Inc. in Amityville, N.Y.

    For 27 years, Lyons has run the Marty Lyons Foundation, which aims to fulfill wishes of terminally ill children. The organization currently reaches nine states across the Eastern seaboard and Southern United States. He also claims 32 years of experience as a motivational speaker and 20 years as a broadcaster. Lyons is a member of seven halls of fame in Alabama, Florida, Maryland and New York. He and his wife, Christine, have four children and reside in Smithtown, N.Y.

    University of Georgia
    Defensive Back, 1967-68

    A consensus All-American in 1968, Jake Scott was a record-setting safety that led Georgia to an SEC championship as a junior. He is the 12th College Football Hall of Famer to play between the hedges.

    In addition to making numerous All-America teams as a junior, Scott was named the SEC's Most Valuable Player by the Nashville Banner. A two-time First Team All-SEC pick, he led the conference in interceptions in 1967 and 1968. Scott's 16 career interceptions remain a school record, and he one of three players in SEC history to return two picks for touchdowns in the same game. He led the Bulldogs to the league crown in 1968 by intercepting 10 passes (tied for second-most in school history) and compiling 440 punt return yards, which ranks fourth in school history.

    A First Team Academic All-SEC performer as a sophomore, Scott bypassed his senior campaign to play for the British Columbia Lions of the Canadian Football League. Scott later played nine seasons in the NFL for the Miami Dolphins and Washington Redskins and started 123-of-126 career games. The five-time Pro Bowler and two-time First Team All-Pro was named the Super Bowl VII MVP for the undefeated Dolphins squad in 1972. He is Miami's all-time leader in interceptions and punt returns.

    Scott was voted to the College Coaches All-Time All-America Team in 1983 and is a member of the State of Georgia Sports Hall of Fame and the Miami Dolphin Honor Roll. Considered by College Football Hall of Fame coach Vince Dooley to be the finest athlete he ever coached, Scott was a member of the Quarter Century All-SEC Team and the SEC All-Time Defensive Team. Scott is retired and lives in Hanalei, Hawai'i.