SEC Announces Annual Baseball Honors > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Announces Annual Baseball Honors

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Florida catcher Mike Zunino was selected 2011 SEC Baseball Player of the Year, Grayson Garvin of Vanderbilt was named SEC Pitcher of the Year and Vanderbilt outfielder Tony Kemp was named SEC Freshman of the Year by a vote of the league’s 12 head baseball coaches.  The coaches also tabbed South Carolina skipper Ray Tanner SEC Coach of the Year. James McCann of Arkansas was named SEC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
    Tanner guided the top-seeded and nationally No. 1-ranked Gamecocks to the school's third SEC Championship in baseball and the first since the 2002 regular season. Carolina also claims at least a share of the SEC Eastern Division title, the school's fifth (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2011). Florida and Vanderbilt will also share the SEC regular season championship with South Carolina.
    Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players. The complete 2011 All-SEC Team follows:

    SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Mike Zunino, Florida
    SEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR - Grayson Garvin, Vanderbilt
    SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt
    SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - James McCann, Arkansas
    SEC COACH OF THE YEAR - Ray Tanner, South Carolina                                                                
    FIRST TEAM                        
    1B - Aaron Westlake, Vanderbilt              
    2B - Scott Wingo, South Carolina               
    3B - Thomas McCarthy, Kentucky
    SS - Casey McElroy, Auburn
    C - Mike Zunino, Florida                
    OF - Mikie Mahtook, LSU              
    OF - Preston Tucker, Florida        
    OF - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt
    DH - Brian Johnson, Florida
    P - Grayson Garvin, Vanderbilt
    P - Michael Roth, South Carolina                               
    RP - Matt Price, South Carolina 

    SECOND TEAM                                  
    1B - Christian Walker, South Carolina
    2B - Josh Adams, Florida
    2B - Alex Yarbrough, Ole Miss
    3B - Jason Esposito, Vanderbilt
    SS - Nolan Fontana, Florida
    C - Tony Caldwell, Auburn
    OF - Taylor Dugas, Alabama
    OF - Mason Katz, LSU
    OF - Chad Wright, Kentucky
    DH - Conrad Gregor, Vanderbilt
    P - DJ Baxendale, Arkansas; Hudson Randall, Florida       
    P - Sonny Gray, Vanderbilt; Alex Meyer, Kentucky
    RP - Caleb Reed, Mississippi State

    ALL FRESHMAN TEAM                                    
    1B - Dominic Ficociello, Arkansas               
    2B - JaCoby Jones, LSU
    3B - Zack Powers, Florida
    SS -  Adam Frazier, Mississippi State
    C - Ty Ross, LSU
    OF - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt        
    OF - C.T. Bradford, Mississippi State
    OF - Andrew Toles, Tennessee
    DH - Conrad Gregor, Vanderbilt                 
    P - Karsten Whitson, Florida        
    P - Forrest Koumas, South Carolina 
    RP - Kevin Ziomek, Vanderbilt

    ALL DEFENSIVE TEAM                    
    P - Sonny Gray, Vanderbilt
    1B - Dominic Ficociello, Arkansas              
    1B - Christian Walker, South Carolina
    2B - Scott Wingo, South Carolina
    SS - Nolan Fontana, Florida
    3B - Jason Esposito, Vanderbilt
    C -  Mike Zunino, Florida               
    OF - Taylor Dugas, Alabama         
    OF - Mikie Mahtook, LSU              
    OF - Zach Cone, Georgia
    OF - Jackie Bradley Jr., South Carolina