UT's Smith, UA's Hoffman Named Kramer Athletes Of The Year > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    UT's Smith, UA's Hoffman Named Kramer Athletes Of The Year

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Tennessee tennis player John-Patrick Smith and Alabama gymnast Kayla Hoffman have been named the 2010-2011 Roy F. Kramer SEC Male and Female Athletes of the Year by a vote of the league's athletics directors, Commissioner Mike Slive announced today.
    "The SEC is very proud to honor John-Patrick and Kayla, as they are outstanding examples of what a student-athlete can accomplish, both on and off the field of competition,” said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive.  “Their hard work and dedication to excellence have made them fine representatives of their universities and this conference.  We congratulate them and wish them the best in their future endeavors.”
    Senior John-Patrick Smith became only the second player in history of college tennis to be a four-time singles and doubles ITA All-American.  He also earned back-to-back SEC Player of the Year honors in 2010 and 2011. 
    A four-time first-team All-SEC selection, he has held the No.1 national ranking in both singles and doubles.  He has held No. 1 doubles ranking with 2 different partners and was named ITA Doubles Team of the Year with Boris Conkic in 2011 and Davey Sandgren in 2009.  An NCAA singles finalist in 2008 and an NCAA doubles finalist in 2009 and 2010, he became the third player to ever win the singles and doubles titles when he did so at the 2009 ITA All-American Championships. 
    He led the Vols to four national top-10 finishes and consecutive SEC regular-season titles in 2010 and 2011, as well as an NCAA finals appearance in 2010.  In academics, Smith paced the team in GPA and was named CoSIDA Academic All-District & ITA Scholar Athlete the last two seasons in addition to being on the SEC Honor Roll.
    The 2011 Honda Award winner for gymnastics, senior Kayla Hoffman served as captain of Alabama’s 2011 NCAA, NCAA Regional and SEC Championship gymnastics team. A first-team CoSIDA Academic All-American, she was also named the Academic All-American of the Year.
    A five-time All-American, Hoffman led UA to its fifth NCAA Championship, clinching the title with a 9.95 on the floor exercise.  She is the first league athlete to earn SEC Gymnast of the Year and SEC Gymnastics Scholar-Athlete of the Year in the same season. She also earned both SEC and NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships.
    The two-time SEC Gymnast of the Week won the vault at the 2011 SEC Championships, clinching the Tide’s seventh conference team title and earning All-SEC honors for the fourth year in a row. In leading UA to its 26th NCAA Regional title, she nearly swept the individual titles, winning four of five events, including the all-around.
    The other male nominees were: Kirani James, Alabama (track & field); D.J. Williams, Arkansas (football); Cam Newton, Auburn (football); Will Claye, Florida (track & field); Will Claye, Georgia (swimming); Randall Cobb, Kentucky (football); Patrick Peterson, LSU (football); Barnabas Kirui, Ole Miss (cross country); Derek Sherrod, Mississippi State (football); Michael Roth, South Carolina (baseball); Grayson Garvin, Vanderbilt (baseball).
    The other female nominees were: Tina Sutej, Arkansas (track & field); Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace, Auburn (swimming); Kelsey Bruder, Florida (softball); Allison Schmitt, Mark Dylla, Georgia (swimming); Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky (basketball); Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU (track & field); Juliana Smith, Ole Miss (track & field); Rochelle Farquharson, Mississippi State (track & field); LaKya Brookins, South Carolina (track & field); Jackie Areson, Tennessee (track & field); Molly Kinsella, Vanderbilt (soccer).
    The SEC Athletes of the Year Awards were first presented in 1976 for men and 1984 for women. The award was renamed the Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year in 2004 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1990-2002.
    Past recipients of the SEC Athlete of the Year Award include: 2010 - Mark Ingram, Alabama (football) and Susan Jackson, LSU (gymnastics); 2009 - Tim Tebow, Florida (football) and Courtney Kupets, Georgia (gymnastics); 2008 - Tim Tebow, Florida (football) and Candace Parker, Tennessee (basketball); 2007 - David Price, Vanderbilt (baseball) and Monica Abbott, Tennessee (softball); 2006 - Xavier Carter, LSU (track & field) and Seimone Augustus, LSU (basketball); 2005 - Ryan Lochte, Florida (swimming) and Kirsty Coventry, Auburn (swimming); 2004 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and Jeana Rice, Alabama (gymnastics); 2003 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State (basketball); 2002 - Walter Davis, LSU (track & field) and Andree’ Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics); 2001 - Matias Boeker, Georgia (tennis) and Amy Yoder Begley, Arkansas (cross country/track); 2000 - Kip Bouknight , South Carolina (baseball) and Kristy Kowal, Georgia (swimming); 1999 - Tim Couch, Kentucky (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1998 - Peyton Manning, Tennessee (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1997 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Trinity Johnson, South Carolina (softball); 1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Saudia Roundtree, Georgia (basketball); 1995 - Todd Helton, Tennessee (baseball) and Jenny Hansen, Kentucky (gymnastics); 1994 - Corliss Williamson, Arkansas (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1993 - Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1992 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Vicki Goetze, Georgia (golf); 1991 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Daedra Charles, Tennessee (basketball); 1990 - Alec Kessler, Georgia (basketball) and Dee Foster, Alabama (gymnastics); 1989 - Derrick Thomas, Alabama (football) and Bridgette Gordon, Tennessee (basketball); 1988 - Will Perdue, Vanderbilt   (basketball) and Dara Torres, Florida (swimming); 1987 - Cornelius Bennett, Alabama (football) and Lillie Leatherwood-King, Alabama (track and field); 1986 - Bo Jackson, Auburn (football) and Jennifer Gillom, Ole Miss (basketball); 1985 - Will Clark, Mississippi State (baseball) and Penney Hauschild, Alabama (gymnastics); 1984 - Terry Hoage, Georgia (football) and Tracy Caulkins, Florida (swimming); 1983 - Herschel Walker, Georgia (football/track and field); 1982 - Buck Belue, Georgia (football/baseball); 1981 - Rowdy Gaines, Auburn (swimming); 1980 - Kyle Macy, Kentucky (basketball); 1979 - Reggie King, Alabama (basketball); 1978 - Jack Givens, Kentucky (basketball); 1977 - Larry Seivers, Tennessee (football); and 1976 - Harvey Glance, Auburn (track and field).