Four SEC Players on Mackey Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Four SEC Players on Mackey Award Watch List

    Bethpage, N.Y. - The 2011 John Mackey Award preseason watch list has been released by the Nassau County Sports Commission.  Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The 2011 John Mackey winner will be presented live at the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on December 8, 2011 at 6pm EST on ESPNU.

    NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

    The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists ten NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark ('01) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Aaron Hernandez ('09) of the New England Patriots and the 2010 John Mackey Award recipient D.J. Williams of the Green Bay Packers.

    2011 Mackey Watch List

    Dwayne Allen, Clemson, Jr.
    Brandon Barden, Vanderbilt, Sr.
    Tim Biere, Kansas, Sr.
    Ted Bolser, Indiana, So.
    George Bryan, N.C. State, Sr.
    Orson Charles, Georgia, Jr.
    Josh Chichester, Louisville, Sr.
    Jack Doyle, Western Kentucky, Jr.
    Drake Dunsmore, Northwestern, Sr.
    Kyle Efaw, Boise State, Sr.
    Michael Egnew, Missouri, Sr.
    Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame, So.
    Rhett Ellison, USC, Sr.
    Cody Fleener, Stanford, Sr.
    Ladarius Green, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr.
    Ryan Griffin, Connecticut, Jr.
    Joe Halahuni, Oregon State, Sr.
    Cooper Helfet, Duke, Sr.
    D.C. Jefferson, Rutgers, Jr.
    Kevin Koger, Michigan, Sr.
    Eric Lair, Minnesota, Sr.
    Brian Linthicum, Michigan State, Sr.
    Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn, Jr.
    Anthony Miller, California, Sr.
    Chris Pantale, Boston College, Jr.
    David Paulson, Oregon, Sr.
    Colter Phillips, Virginia, Jr.
    Nick Provo, Syracuse, Sr.
    Lucas Reed, New Mexico, Jr.
    Kyler Reed, Nebraska, Jr.
    Evan Rodriguez, Temple, Sr.
    Jake Stoneburner, Ohio State, Jr.
    Michael Williams, Alabama, Jr.
    Luke Wilson, Rice, Jr.