Media Tabs Kentucky As SEC Men’s Champion > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Media Tabs Kentucky As SEC Men’s Champion

    Birmingham, Ala. -- Kentucky was predicted to win the 2012 Southeastern Conference men’s basketball championship in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members. Each SEC school selected media members that cover their team and additional media from across the nation were selected by the conference office to form the voting panel.

    The Wildcats, who are coming off a 29-9 season that saw them advance to the NCAA Final Four, earned 18 first-place votes. Vanderbilt earned four first-place votes while Florida received one vote.

    Last week Kentucky was ranked second nationally in the preseason ESPN/USA Today Coaches’ hoops poll while Vanderbilt was seventh and Florida was 10. Alabama was ranked 17th and Mississippi State was among the teams receiving votes.

    Kentucky sophomore Terrence Jones was the choice of the media for SEC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year with 12 votes. Vanderbilt junior John Jenkins finished second (nine votes) while Alabama senior JaMychal Green (one vote) and Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis (one vote) also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

    Jones, Jenkins and Green were joined on the All-SEC First Team by Mississippi State senior Dee Bost and Vanderbilt senior Jeffery Taylor.

    Davis and Vanderbilt’s Festus Ezeli led All-SEC Second Team honors and were joined by Florida’s Kenny Boynton and Erving Walker along with Kentucky’s Doron Lamb and Darius Miller.

    Points were compiled on a 12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team.

    The 2011-12 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Day, October 27 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama. The 2011-12 season begins November 11, with conference play set to begin January 7. The 2012 SEC Tournament will be held March 8-11 at the New Orleans Arena in New Orleans, La.

    Preseason Media Poll   Pts
    Kentucky (18) -- 282
    Vanderbilt (4) -- 265
    Florida (1) -- 235
    Alabama -- 219
    Mississippi State -- 191
    Arkansas -- 154
    Ole Miss -- 119
    Georgia -- 108
    LSU -- 91
    Auburn -- 80
    Tennessee -- 71
    South Carolina -- 57

    *First-Place Votes in Parentheses

    First Team All-SEC
    JaMychal Green, Alabama – F, 6-8, 228, Sr., Montgomery, Ala.
    Terrence Jones, Kentucky – F, 6-9, 252, So., Portland, Ore.
    Dee Bost, Mississippi State – G, 6-2, 176, Sr. , Concord, N.C.
    John Jenkins, Vanderbilt – G, 6-4, 220, Jr., Hendersonville, Tenn.
    Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt – G/F, 6-7, 225, Sr., Norrkoping, Sweden

    Second Team All-SEC
    Anthony Davis, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 220, Fr., Chicago, Ill.
    Doron Lamb, Kentucky – G, 6-4, 210, So., Queens, N.Y.
    Darius Miller, Kentucky – G, 6-8, 235, Sr., Maysville, Ky.
    Kenny Boynton, Florida – G, 6-2, 189, Jr., Pompano Beach, Fla.
    Erving Walker, Florida – G, 5-8, 177, Sr., Brooklyn, N.Y.
    Festus Ezeli, Vanderbilt – C, 6-11, 255, Sr., Benin City, Nigeria

    SEC Player of the Year: Terrence Jones, Kentucky