The SEC and Missouri: Great Games, Great Coaches > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    The SEC and Missouri: Great Games, Great Coaches

    By: Sean Cartell
    Twitter: @SEC_Sean
    SEC Digital Network

    Big Football Games vs. SEC Opponents

    2008 – Missouri 38, Arkansas 7
    A Big-12 Conference Championship game loss away from reaching the BCS Championship game, Missouri recorded a dominating 38-7 Cotton Bowl victory against Arkansas. Mizzou was ranked No. 1 after beating Kansas in the regular-season finale but then lost badly to Oklahoma in the Big 12 title game. Arkansas wore all-red uniforms as a tribute to Frank Broyles, in his last game as the school’s athletics director.

    2005 – Missouri 38, South Carolina 31
    With Missouri trailing 21-0 after the first quarter and 28-14 at halftime, South Carolina outgained the Tigers 312 yards to 174 in the first half and held the football almost 11 minutes longer. But the Missouri outscored the Gamecocks 24-3 in the final period to claim a 38-31 Independence Bowl Victory. Missouri quarterback Brad Smith completed 21 of 37 passes for 282 yards, with one touchdown and an interception. He also ran for 150 yards and three touchdowns on 21 carries.

    1978 – Alabama 38, Missouri 20
    Playing in front of what was then the largest crowd in Memorial Stadium history (73,655), No. 1 Alabama pulled off a 38-20 victory against No. 11 Missouri. The Tigers were riding high after a win against Notre Dame, the defending national champion, the previous week. Missouri led 20-17 at halftime, but Alabama stormed out of the locker room at intermission. The Crimson Tide would go on to win their 10th national championship that year.

    1973 – Missouri 34, Auburn 17
    Missouri jumped out to a 28-10 advantage and rolled to a 34-17 victory against Auburn in the Sun Bowl. Missouri had a pair of players eclipse the 100-yard rushing plateau as Ray Bybee rushed 27 times for 127 yards and a touchdown, and Tommy Reamon rushed 23 times for 110 yards.

    1968 – Missouri 35, Alabama 10
    Employing the newly-installed Power-I formation, Missouri quarterback Terry McMillan ran for three touchdowns to lead the Tigers to a 35-10 Gator Bowl victory against Alabama. It marked Alabama’s worst bowl loss in the program’s history. McMillan didn’t complete a single pass in the game and he was picked off twice, but his three rushing touchdowns and new-look offensive formation kept the Crimson Tide off balance.

    1966 – Missouri 20, Florida 18
    With Florida trailing 20-0, junior quarterback Steve Spurrier brought the Gators’ offense to life in the fourth quarter, but it wasn’t enough in a 20-18 loss to Missouri in the Sugar Bowl. Spurrier completed 27-of-45 passes for 352 yards and became the first player from the losing team to be named the game’s Most Outstanding Player. He broke six bowl records in the contest.

    1960 – Georgia 14, Missouri 0
    In Georgia coach Wally Butts’ last game, senior quarterback Fran Tarkenton threw for two touchdowns and completed nine of 16 passes for 131 yards to lead the Bulldogs to a 14-0 Orange Bowl victory. Missouri, the Big Seven Conference Champions, threw three interceptions on potential scoring drives.

    1958 – Vanderbilt 12, Missouri 8
    Dan Devine, making his debut as Missouri’s head coach and its third coach in three years, would go on to become one of the most successful coaches in program history. But in his opener with the Tigers, Devine lost a 12-8 decision to Vanderbilt. He would lost just 37 more times in 13 years.

    SEC-Missouri Football Series Histories
    Alabama: Missouri Leads 2-1 (Last Meeting: 1978)
    Arkansas: Missouri leads 3-2 (Last Meeting: 2008)
    Auburn: Missouri Leads 1-0 (Last Meeting: 1973)
    Florida: Missouri Leads 1-0 (Last Meeting: 1966)
    Georgia: Missouri Trails 0-1 (Last Meeting: 1960)
    Kentucky: Missouri Trails 1-2 (Last Meeting: 1968)
    LSU: Missouri Leads 1-0 (Last Meeting: 1978)
    Ole Miss: Missouri Leads 5-1 (Last Meeting: 2007)
    Mississippi State: Missouri Leads 2-0 (Last Meeting: 1984)
    South Carolina: Missouri Leads 2-0 (Last Meeting: 2005)
    Tennessee: Never Met
    Vanderbilt: Missouri Leads 2-1-1 (Last Meeting: 1958)
    Missouri All-Time vs. the SEC: 20-8-1

    SEC-Missouri Men’s Basketball Series Histories
    Alabama: Missouri Trails 1-4 (Last Meeting: 2001)
    Arkansas: Missouri Trails 18-19 (Last Meeting: 2007)
    Auburn: Never Met
    Florida: Never Met
    Georgia: Missouri Leads 3-0 (Last Meeting: 2009)
    Kentucky: Missouri Trails 0-4 (Last Meeting: 1999)
    LSU: Missouri Trails 0-1 (Last Meeting: 1980)
    Ole Miss: Never Met
    Mississippi State: Missouri Leads 2-1 (Last Meeting: 2007)
    South Carolina: Never Met
    Tennessee: Missouri Leads 4-2 (Last Meeting: 1985)
    Vanderbilt: Tigers Trail 2-3 (Last Meeting: 2010)
    Missouri All-Time vs. the SEC: 30-34


    Mike Anderson, Men’s Basketball
    Anderson spent 17 seasons as a volunteer assistant, recruiting coordinator and assistant head coach at Arkansas, during which time the Razorbacks made 16 Sweet 16 appearances, three Final Fours and the 1994 NCAA Championship. Following four seasons as the head coach at UAB, Anderson spent the last five years as the head coach at Missouri, leading the Tigers to an overall record of 111-56 (.665) with four NCAA Tournament victories and a 75-13 home record. After taking Missouri to the NCAA Elite Eight in 2009, Anderson was named the National Association of Basketball Coaches National Coach of the Year. He was named Arkansas’ head coach on March 23, 2011.

    Frank Broyles, Football
    Broyles served as Missouri’s head coach during the 1957 season, leading the Tigers to a 5-4-1 overall record before Dan Devine took over in 1958. Broyles had been a three-sport standout at Georgia Tech from 1944-46 when the Yellow Jackets were a member of the SEC. In 1958, Broyles took over a struggling Razorback program. During Broyles’ 19 seasons at Arkansas, he compiled a record of 144-58-5, leading his squad to seven Southwest Conference Championships and 10 bowl games. His 1964 Arkansas team won its 11 regular-season games and was voted national champions by the Football Writers Association of America, defeating Nebraska in the Cotton Bowl. Broyles served as Arkansas athletics director until 2007, leading the Razorbacks through their transition to the SEC in 1992.

    John Cohen, Baseball
    Cohen played baseball at Mississippi State from 1988-90, helping to lead the Bulldogs to the 1990 College World Series as a senior. Cohen’s first coaching job came as a graduate assistant and later assistant coach at Missouri from 1992-97. Under Cohen’s direction, the Missouri offense broke 17 total offensive records during his six seasons in Columbia. After four years as head coach at Northwestern State, Cohen spent two seasons as an assistant at Florida. He was then the head coach at the University of Kentucky for five seasons, beginning in 2003, compiling a 175-113-1 record and an SEC Championship. Since 2009, he has been head coach at Mississippi State.

    Ernie Nestor, Men’s Basketball
    Nestor is in his first season as an assistant basketball coach at Missouri, but has SEC ties, having served as an assistant coach on Dave Odom’s staff at South Carolina from 2001-2003. In 2001-02, the Gamecocks finished 22-15 and were the NIT runners-up.

    Woody Widenhofer, Football
    Widenhofer played linebacker at Missouri from 1961-64 and later served as Missouri’s head coach from 1985-88, compiling a 12-31-1 overall record. His best season came in 1987, leading the Tigers to a 5-6 overall record. Following NFL coaching stints at the Detroit Lions and Cleveland Browns, Widenhofer became Vanderbilt’s defensive coordinator in 1995. He was elevated to head coach in 1997, where he compiled a record of 15-37 in five seasons at the helm of the Commodores.