SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships This Weekend > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships This Weekend

    SEC Track and Field Weekly Release (PDF)
    SEC Championship Central
    Q&A with ESPN's Larry Rawson

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Featuring some of the finest competition in collegiate track and field, the 2012 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships are slated for this weekend, Feb. 24-26, in Lexington, Ky., at the University of Kentucky’s E.J. Nutter Field House.

    Of the 10 SEC men’s teams competing at this meet, six are ranked among the nation’s top-25 in the latest U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, including: No. 1 Arkansas, No. 2 Florida, No. 4 LSU, No. 17 Auburn, No. 22 Ole Miss and No. 24 Georgia. Five of the league’s 12 SEC women’s teams competing at the meet are ranked in the top-25, including: No. 2 LSU, No. 4 Arkansas, No. 6 Florida, No. 8 Tennessee and No. 22 South Carolina.

    The 2012 SEC Indoor Championships feature six men’s athletes who are looking to defend their individual championships from a year ago and eight women’s athletes looking to repeat their individual titles.

    The SEC Indoor Championships will air as part of a 90-minute show on ESPNU on Sunday, March 11 from 5-6:30 p.m. ET. ESPN3 will stream the meet live during the following times: Saturday, February 25 – 2:05-7:30 p.m. ET; Sunday, February 26 – 1:25-5:00 p.m. ET. The University of Kentucky will stream live the portions of the meet not on ESPN3 on its web site

    Florida is the defending SEC Indoor Champion on the men’s side and the Gators have won back-to-back NCAA Indoor Championships. Tennessee has won a league-leading 18 SEC Indoor Championships, while Arkansas has won 17 of the last 20 league indoor team crowns.

    LSU, which has won a league-leading 12 SEC Indoor Championships on the women’s side, is the defending women’s SEC Indoor Championship. From 1985-99, the Tigers captured 10 SEC Indoor Championships. Florida has won the second-most SEC Indoor titles of any team with six, the last coming in 2010.

    Live results will be available at:

    For all of the latest information on SEC Track and Field, please log on to or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.

    Returning Champions at the 2012 SEC Indoor Championships

    60m: Jeff Demps, Florida
    60mH: Eddie Lovett, Florida
    200m: Tony McQuay, Florida
    HJ: Ricky Robertson, Ole Miss
    SP: Kemal Mesic, Florida
    Hept: Gray Horn, Florida

    60mH: Jasmin Stowers, LSU
    200m: Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
    800m: Chanelle Price, Tennessee
    Mile: Cory McGee, Florida
    PV: Tina Sutej, Arkansas
    TJ: Colleen Felix, Georgia
    SP: Wilamena Hopkins, Alabama
    WT: Fidela James, Florida