NCAA Gymnastics Regional Championship Selections Announced > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    NCAA Gymnastics Regional Championship Selections Announced

    INDIANAPOLIS - The 2012 National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championships regional selections were announced Monday by the NCAA.

    Six teams, five all-around competitors (who are not on a qualifying team) and one individual event specialist per event (who has a minimum Regional Qualifying Score (RQS) of 9.4) were named to each of the six predetermined host sites.

    The top-18 teams are seeded on a national basis, based on RQS. Teams 19-36 are organized into three pods (19-24, 25-30 and 31-36) and placed geographically at one of the six sites, beginning with teams 19-24 followed by teams 25-30 and then finally teams 31-36. All-around competitors and event specialists are assigned to their respective geographic region or the designated site for their region (Northeast - North Carolina State;  Southeast - Arkansas).

    In case of ties for the last berth into regional competition and for seeding purposes, the team, all-around competitor or individual event specialist with the highest score, not including the six used for the regional qualifying score, will qualify. If a tie still exists, the process is continued until the tie is broken.

    The qualifying teams and individuals are listed below. All regionals will be conducted April 7 with start times between 4 and 6 p.m. local time.

    Auburn Regional (Auburn, host) - 6 p.m.

    1. Georgia
    2. Oregon State
    3. Auburn
    4. Michigan
    5. West Virginia
    6. Michigan State

    Champaign Regional (Illinois, host) - 4 p.m.

    1. Oklahoma
    2. Stanford
    3. Denver
    4. Illinois
    5. Kentucky
    6. Illinois-Chicago

    Fayetteville Regional (Arkansas, host) - 4 p.m.

    1. UCLA
    2. Arkansas
    3. Boise State
    4. Missouri
    5. New Hampshire
    6. Maryland

    Raleigh Regional (North Carolina State, host) - 4 p.m.

    1. Florida
    2. Ohio State
    3. Penn State
    4. North Carolina State
    5. Kent State
    6. North Carolina

    Salt Lake City Regional (Utah, host) - 6 p.m.

    1. Nebraska
    2. Utah
    3. Minnesota
    4. Iowa State
    5. Arizona State
    6. San Jose State

    Seattle Regional (Washington, host) - 4 p.m.

    1. Alabama
    2. LSU
    3. Arizona
    4. Washington
    5. Iowa
    6. Central Michigan

    The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Duluth, Ga., April 20-22, hosted by the Gwinnett Center and Georgia Tech.

    In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.