Alabama Men Win SEC Golf Championship > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Alabama Men Win SEC Golf Championship

    SEC Digital Network Video Coverage
    Video: Alabama's Justin Thomas
    Video: Alabama's Bobby Wyatt
    Video: Alabama's Jay Seawell
    Video: Sea Island Recap

    ST. SIMONS ISLAND, Ga. - The Alabama men's golf team captured the 2012 SEC Men's Golf Championship, held at the Sea Island Golf Club Seaside Course, by scoring a final round 2-over par, 282.  The Tide finished the championship winning by six strokes with a three-day total of 12-under-par, 828.  This was Alabama's third SEC Men's Golf Championship and second since 2008.

    Auburn finished in second place with a three-day total of 834 to finish 6-under after a strong final-round 277. At one point during the final round the Tigers had climbed to within two strokes of Alabama, who began the day with an 11 stroke lead. Auburn was the only team to shoot under par on Sunday.

    Alabama entered the weekend ranked second nationally, with Auburn ranked third.

    Alabama's three-day total of 828 was the event's lowest since an 827 turned in by Georgia in 2006. Last year's champion won with an 8-over-par 848.

    Justin Thomas of Alabama won individual medalist honors by shooting a final-round 68 to finish 7-under-par (203) for the championship.  The
    203 ties for the SEC Championship record-low shot by Florida's Brett Stegmaier in 2003. Thomas overtook teammate Bobby Wyatt, who had led the entire weekend, after Wyatt shot a final round 1-over-par 71 to finish with a 205 weekend total. Auburn's Blayne Barber and Tyler McCumber of Florida fired the low rounds of the day with 3-under-par 67s.

    The final team standings are listed below.

    (1) Alabama        272-274-282    828
    (2) Auburn        277-280-277    834   
    (3) Florida        283-278-280    841
    (4) Georgia        273-284-293    850
    (5) Arkansas        286-280-289    855
    (6) Ole Miss        287-285-285    857
    (7) Kentucky        284-294-288    866
    (8) Tennessee        285-290-293    868
    (9) Vanderbilt        289-286-294    869
    (10) South Carolina    289-289-293    871
    (11) LSU        296-284-297    877
    (12) Mississippi State    289-290-300    879

    Complete Standings/Results after the Final Round