Seven SEC Softball Players Earn Academic All-America Recognition > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Seven SEC Softball Players Earn Academic All-America Recognition

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Seven Southeastern Conference softball players have been named to the 2012 Capital One Academic All-America Division I Softball team, as elected by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

    Alabama’s Kayla Braud and Tennessee’s Raven Chavanne were named to the Capital One Academic All-America First Team. Second-team selections from the SEC include Jackey Branham of Alabama, Kelsey Horton of Florida, Michelle Moultrie of Florida, Cassie Reilly-Boccia of Alabama and Ellen Renfroe of Tennessee.

    A junior public relations major with a 3.92 G.P.A., Braud is batting .351 for No. 2 Alabama, now 53-7 on the season. She helped the Crimson Tide reach the NCAA Super Regional for the fifth year in a row. Braud, is the third-leading hitter for the Crimson Tide and has scored 55 runs. She leads Alabama with 39 stolen bases in 44 attempts. She has earned All-American honors from the NFCA twice and was the Southeastern Conference Freshman of the Year in 2010.

    Chavanne, a junior political science major with a 3.89 G.P.A., is a Capital One Academic All-America first-team selection as an infielder this season. She earned first team notice as an outfielder last year. A native of Thousand Oaks, Cal., she is a finalist for the USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year for the second year in a row. A two-time NFCA All-American (2010, 2011), she is Tennessee’s all-time leading hitter (.450). She also ranks third in career steals (102), seventh in runs scored (173) and eighth in base hits (260). The Vols’ third baseman and leadoff hitter has led No. 5 Tennessee to a 50-11 record and a berth in the NCAA Super Regionals. Currently batting .439, she has 84 career multi-hit games at Tennessee.

    First Team
    P – Hillary Bach, Arizona State
    P – Ashley Brignac, Louisiana
    C – Jenna Marston, Missouri
    IF – Katelyn Boyd, Arizona State
    IF – Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
    IF – Jennifer Colquhon, Lehigh
    IF – Alicia Herron, Ohio State
    OF – Kayla Braud, Alabama
    OF – Mallory Duran-Sellers, Southern Illinois
    OF – Leah Taylor, UT-Martin
    DP – Bailey Wigness, Arizona State

    Second Team
    P – Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee
    P – Chelsea Thomas, Missouri
    C – Kelsey Horton, Florida
    IF – Jackey Branham, Alabama
    IF – Chelsea Garcia, Oklahoma State
    IF – Cassie Reilly-Boccia, Alabama
    IF – Stacie Toney, BYU
    OF – Ashley Fleming, Missouri
    OF – Annie Lockwood, Arizona State
    OF – Michelle Moultrie, Florida
    DP – Jill Jelnick, East Carolina