SEC Announces Annual Baseball Honors > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Announces Annual Baseball Honors

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- LSU outfielder Raph Rhymes was selected 2012 SEC Baseball Player of the Year, Chris Stratton of Mississippi State was named SEC Pitcher of the Year and Kentucky outfielder Austin Cousino was named SEC Freshman of the Year by a vote of the league’s 12 head baseball coaches.  The coaches also tabbed Kentucky skipper Gary Henderson SEC Coach of the Year. Michael Roth of South Carolina was named SEC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
    The Wildcats have had a historic season in 2012, starting with a 22-game winning streak to open the year, setting a school record for the best start and the longest winning streak in program annals. UK has posted series wins over No. 2 South Carolina, Tennessee, No. 18 Georgia, No. 10 Ole Miss, No. 9 Arkansas, No. 1 LSU and Alabama. UK’s seven series wins in 2012 mark the most in program history, equaling the 2006 SEC Championship team’s series wins. Kentucky’s 41 wins in the regular season were the most in UK school history.
    Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players. The complete 2012 All-SEC Team follows:

    SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR -  Raph Rhymes, LSU
    SEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR - Chris Stratton, Mississippi State
    SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Austin Cousino, Kentucky
    SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Michael Roth, South Carolina  
    SEC COACH OF THE YEAR - Gary Henderson, Kentucky     

    FIRST TEAM                        
    1B - Christian Walker, South Carolina     
    2B - Alex Yarbrough, Ole Miss    
    3B - Matt Reynolds, Arkansas
    SS - Anthony Gomez, Vanderbilt
    C - Mike Zunino, Florida       
    OF - Raph Rhymes, LSU     
    OF - Preston Tucker, Florida    
    OF - Taylor Dugas, Alabama
    DH/UTL - Brian Johnson, Florida
    P - Chris Stratton, Mississippi State
    P - Kevin Gausman, LSU            
    RP - Steven Rodriguez, Florida  

    SECOND TEAM                       
    1B - Matt Snyder, Ole Miss
    2B - Bo Bigham, Arkansas
    3B - Curt Powell, Georgia
    SS - Nolan Fontana, Florida
    C - Luke Maile, Kentucky
    OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky
    OF - Ryan Tella, Auburn
    OF - Mason Katz, LSU
    DH - Drew Steckenrider, Tennessee
    P - Alex Wood, Georgia     
    P - Corey Littrell, Kentucky
    P - Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss
    RP - Matt Price, South Carolina

    ALL FRESHMAN TEAM                        
    1B - A.J. Reed, Kentucky     
    2B - Will Maddox, Tennessee
    3B - Josh Tobias, Florida
    SS - Joey Pancake, South Carolina
    C - Grayson Greiner, South Carolina  
    OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky      
    OF - Tanner English, South Carolina
    OF - Hunter Cole, Georgia
    OF - Ben Moore, Alabama
    DH/UTL - A.J. Reed, Kentucky    
    P - Aaron Nola, LSU     
    P - Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt
    RP - Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State

    ALL DEFENSIVE TEAM                        
    P - Ryan Eades, LSU
    P - Kendall Graveman, Mississippi State
    P - Michael Roth, South Carolina  
    1B -Dominic Ficociello, Arkansas      
    2B - Alex Yarbrough, Ole Miss
    SS - Nolan Fontana, Florida
    3B - Matt Reynolds, Arkansas
    C - Mike Zunino, Florida      
    OF - Evan Marzilli, South Carolina     
    OF - Taylor Dugas, Alabama    
    OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky