Let It Rain: Alabama Wins National Championship > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Let It Rain: Alabama Wins National Championship

    Programming Note: The WCWS Championship Game will reair at 9 p.m. ET, Thursday, June 7 on ESPNU.

    View Box Score

    OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Jackie Traina threw a five-hitter and delivered a key RBI single, and Alabama became the first Southeastern Conference team to win a NCAA softball title, beating Oklahoma 5-4 in the final game of a best-of-three series that ended early Thursday.

    Traina gave up three home runs -- two to Lauren Chamberlain, including one in the seventh inning -- but fanned her Oklahoma counterpart, Keilani Ricketts, to end the game.

    Alabama (60-8) took advantage of Ricketts' wildness to score four runs in the fourth inning. The Crimson Tide overcame an early 3-0 deficit in a game delayed almost three hours at the start due to steady rain on Wednesday night.

    Oklahoma (54-10) had won 12 straight games, including the opening game of the championship series, before losing two in a row. Ricketts struck out seven, raising her tournament total to 64, tying for third-best in Women's World College Series history.

    The win capped an emotional season for Alabama coach Patrick Murphy, who left after last season to take the coaching job at LSU, only to return to Alabama days later.

    Ricketts put Oklahoma ahead in the second, curling a leadoff homer just inside the right-field foul pole. Chamberlain followed in the third with a two-out homer to left field to give the Sooners a 3-0 lead.

    Rain started falling before the fourth inning and Ricketts (37-9) began struggling. After throwing 10 balls in the first three innings, she had 15 -- including four wild pitches -- in the fourth.

    Kaila Hunt opened the fourth by singling to left for Alabama, then scored on three wild pitches. After the third one, Oklahoma coach Patty Gasso complained to the umpires that Ricketts couldn't properly grip the ball and they delayed the game 13 minutes -- over Murphy's protests.

    When the game resumed, Amanda Locke delivered a two-out RBI single and Courtney Conley followed with a double to center field that tied the game. A throwing error by Oklahoma shortstop Jessica Vest allowed Jazlyn Lunceford to reach base and Conley to score, putting the Crimson Tide up 4-3.

    Traina (42-3) walked Chamberlain and hit Ricketts with a pitch with two outs in the fifth, but retired Jessica Shults on a fly ball that right fielder Lunceford caught at the wall. Alabama added an insurance run in the bottom of the fifth as Jennifer Fenton reached on a leadoff bunt single and scored on a RBI single to right field by Traina.

    Chamberlain's second home run, a two-out, solo shot over the right-center field wall, was her 30th of the season and the 102nd for the Sooners.

    Traina had six strikeouts to end the season with 360, an Alabama single-season record.

    All-Tournament Team
    Amber Freeman, Arizona State
    Samantha Pappas, Oregon
    Alexa Peterson, Oregon
    Lauren Chamberlain, Oklahoma
    Destinee Martinez, Oklahoma
    Keilani Ricketts, Oklahoma
    Jessica Shults, Oklahoma
    Brianna Turang, Oklahoma
    Kayla Braud, Alabama
    Jennifer Fenton, Alabama
    Amanda Locke, Alabama

    Most Outstanding Player:
    Jackie Traina, Alabama

    SEC National Championship Notes
    • The SEC has won seven national titles this season – Football (Alabama), Men’s Basketball (Kentucky), Men’s Indoor Track and Field (Florida), Gymnastics (Alabama), Women’s Tennis (Florida), Women’s Golf (Alabama), Softball (Alabama).
    • Alabama has now won four national titles this season – football, gymnastics, women’s golf, softball.
    • Wednesday’s NCAA title by the Alabama softball team marked the first by an SEC softball program in league history.
    • The SEC has won at least one national title in 19 of its 20 sponsored sports all time (excludes volleyball).
    • The SEC has won at least one national title in 18 of its 20 sponsored sports during the last 20 years (excludes volleyball and women’s cross country).
    • The SEC has won 194 national championships in league history – 114 men’s and 81 women’s.
    • The SEC has won 33 national championships during the last six academic years.
    • Since 2006, the SEC has had a national champion in 13 of its 20 sponsored sports – football, men’s basketball, baseball, men’s indoor track and field, women’s swimming and diving, gymnastics, women’s tennis, men’s tennis, men’s swimming and diving, women’s golf, women’s basketball, women's outdoor track and field and softball.