Seven from SEC Make Mackey Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Seven from SEC Make Mackey Award Watch List

    Bethpage, N.Y. - The Nassau County Sports Commission, sponsored by Briarcliffe College, has released the 2012 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2012 John Mackey winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2012 Mackey semi-finalists on November 12, 2012 and the announcement of the 2012 Mackey finalists on November 19, 2012. All future announcements can be found at

    NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

    The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists eleven NFL players as alumni: 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('01) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Seattle Seahawks, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Chicago Bears, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers, Aaron Hernandez ('09) of the New England Patriots, D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers and the 2011 John Mackey Award recipient Dwayne Allen of the Indianapolis Colts.    

    2012 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List  

    (in alphabetical order)

    First Name
    Alex Bayer Bowling Green Jr
    Ted Bolser Indiana Jr
    Chase Clement LSU Sr
    Jack Doyle Western Kentucky Sr
    Tyler Eifert Notre Dame Sr
    Gavin Escobar San Diego State Jr
    Joseph Fauria UCLA Sr
    C.J. Fiedorowicz Iowa Jr
    Brandon Ford Clemson Sr
    Matt Furstenburg Maryland Sr
    Crockett Gillmore Colorado State Jr
    Chris Gragg Arkansas Sr
    Hubie Graham Pittsburgh Sr
    Ryan Griffin Connecticut Sr
    Chase Harper Texas State Sr
    Garrett Hoskins Eastern Michigan Sr
    Malcolm Johnson Mississippi State So
    Philip Lutzenkirchen Auburn Sr
    Jordan Najvar Baylor Jr
    Ryan Otten San Jose State Sr
    Chris Pantale Boston College Sr
    Jacob Pedersen Wisconsin Jr
    Mike Ragone Kansas Sr
    Kyler Reed Nebraska Sr
    Lucas Reed New Mexico Sr
    Jordan Reed Florida Jr
    Mychal Rivera Tennessee Sr

    Austin Seferian-Jenkins Washington So
    Dion Sims Michigan State Jr
    Jake Stoneburner Ohio State Sr
    Levine Toilolo Stanford Jr
    Michael Williams Alabama Sr
    Luke Willson Rice Sr
    The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,