Ten from SEC on Rimington Trophy Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Ten from SEC on Rimington Trophy Watch List

    The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2012 Fall Watch List.

    The list includes 21 returning players from the 2011 Watch List. In all, there are 51 players on the Watch List. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with ten players. The Big Ten follows with six players, while the ACC, Conference USA, Mountain West Conference, and the PAC-12 all check in with five players each. In addition, there are two graduate students and eight sophomores on the Watch List.

    The following is a list of those named to the 2012 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.

    Eloy Atkinson UTEP 6'3" 315 Senior
    Mario Benavides Louisville 6'4" 301 RS Senior
    Nick Carlson Wyoming 6'4"; 292 Senior
    Braxston Cave Notre Dame 6'3" 304 Graduate Student
    Dillon Day Mississippi State 6'4" 295 RS Sophomore
    Reese Dismukes Auburn 6'3" 302 Sophomore
    Trent Dupy Tulsa 6'2" 285 Senior
    Dillon Farrell New Mexico 6'5" 290 Junior
    James Ferentz Iowa 6'2" 284 Senior
    Jay Finch Georgia Tech 6'3"; 283 RS Junior
    B.J. Finney Kansas State 6'4" 303 Sophomore
    Travis Frederick Wisconsin 6'4" 328 Junior
    Dalton Freeman Clemson 6'5" 285 Graduate Student
    James Fry TCU 6'3" 290 Senior
    Kevin Galeher Western Michigan 6'3" 300 Senior
    Hronis Grasu Oregon 6'3" 284 Sophomore
    Ben Habern Oklahoma 6'4" 292 Senior
    Gus Handler Colorado 6'3" 295 Junior
    Jonotthan Harrison Florida 6'3" 309 RS Junior
    Khaled Holmes USC 6'4" 305 Senior
    Andre Huval Louisiana-Lafayette 6'1" 290 Junior
    Alec Johnson San Diego State 6'3" 300 Senior
    T.J. Johnson South Carolina 6'6" 319 Senior
    Barrett Jones Alabama 6'5" 302 Senior

    Zac Kerin Toledo 6'5" 300 Junior
    Tyler Larsen Utah State 6'4" 308 Junior
    Patrick Lewis Texas A&M 6'2" 306 Senior
    P.J. Lonergan LSU 6'4" 305 Senior
    Macky MacPherson Syracuse 6'2" 269 Junior
    Joe Madsen West Virginia 6'4" 310 RS Senior
    Mike Marboe Idaho 6'2" 301 Sophomore
    Will Matte Indiana 6'2" 290 RS Senior
    Blake McJunkin SMU 6'2" 305 Senior
    Andrew Miller Virginia Tech 6'4" 300 RS Junior
    Brian Moore Duke 6'2" 285 RS Senior
    Graham Pocic Illinois 6'7" 305 Senior
    Ryan Powis Army 6'0" 257 Sophomore
    Austin Quattrochi Southern Mississippi 6'3" 295 RS Senior
    Jordan Rae UCF 6'2" 275 Senior
    Weston Richburg Colorado State 6'4" 297 Junior
    Sam Schartzstein Stanford 6'3" 290 Senior
    Matt Smith Kentucky 6'4" 296 Senior
    Matt Stankiewitch Penn State 6'3" 295 Senior
    Tevita Stevens Utah 6'3" 302 Senior
    Travis Swanson Arkansas 6'5" 305 Junior
    Evan Swindall Ole Miss 6'2" 300 Junior
    Ryan Turnley Pittsburgh 6'6" 320 Senior
    Brandon Vitabile Northwestern 6'3" 300 Sophomore
    Stephen Warner Louisiana Tech 6'0" 295 RS Senior
    Robert Waterman UNLV 6'2" 290 Sophomore
    Camden Wentz NC State 6'3" 225 Senior

    While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

    * American Football Coaches Association
    * Walter Camp Foundation
    * Sporting News
    * Football Writers Association of America

    Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

    The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

    The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 12, 2013.

    About the Rimington Trophy
    The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million. The twelve-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

    Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com

    About the NCFAA
    The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, ncfaa.org.