SEC With Five On Guy Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC With Five On Guy Award Watch List

    Augusta, GA (July 11, 2012) - The Augusta Sports Council has announced the preseason watch list for the 2012 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter.

    The 25 candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. Returning Ray Guy Award semifinalists from 2011 include Ian Campbell (UTEP), Steven Clark (Auburn), Bobby Cowan (Idaho), Richie Leone (Houston), Pat O’Donnell (Cincinnati), Jackson Rice (Oregon), Brian Schmiedebusch (Bowling Green) and Brad Wing (LSU), as well as 2011 Ray Guy Award winner Ryan Allen of Louisiana Tech.

    The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on October 26. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semi-finalists, who will be announced on November 9. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on November 19.

    After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 6.

    2012 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List (SEC Only)
    Dylan Breeding (Jr.), Arkansas
    Steven Clark (Jr.), Auburn
    Brad Wing (So.), LSU
    Tyler Campbell (Jr.), Ole Miss
    Richard Kent (Sr.), Vanderbilt

    Ray Guy Award
    The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.