SEC On Preseason Watch Lists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC On Preseason Watch Lists

    The Southeastern Conference placed 93 of its football players on 2012 National Awards Watch Lists, the most of any conference.  The 93 players were listed on 17 awards watch lists a total of 183 times, also the most of any conference.  

    Three SEC football players were listed on five of the 17 watch lists – Florida DT Sharrif Floyd was named to the Bednarik, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi and Walter Camp lists while Georgia LB Jarvis Jones was named to the Bednarik, Nagurski, Butkus, Lombardi and Camp lists and Alabama DT Jesse Williams was named to the Bednarik, Outland, Nagurski, Lombardi and Lott IMPACT Watch Lists.  

    15 SEC players were named to four watch lists including Mississippi State DB Johnthan Banks, Tennessee QB Tyler Bray, South Carolina DE Jadeveon Clowney, Missouri QB James Franklin, Georgia DT Jonathan Jenkins, Alabama LB Nico Johnson, Alabama C Barrett Jones, LSU DB Tyrann Mathieu, Alabama QB A.J. McCarron, LSU DT Sam Montgomery, Alabama LB C.J. Mosley, Georgia QB Aaron Murray, Texas A&M LB Sean Porter, LSU DB Eric Reid and Arkansas QB Tyler Wilson.

    The 17 national award watch lists include the Bednarik (Outstanding Defensive Player), Maxwell (Outstanding Player), Mackey (Outstanding Tight End), Rimington (Outstanding Center), Groza (Outstanding Placekicker), Guy (Outstanding Punter), Nagurski (Outstanding Defensive Player), Outland (Outstanding Interior Lineman), Thorpe (Outstanding Defensive Back), Butkus (Outstanding Linebacker), Lombardi (Outstanding Lineman), Biletnikoff (Outstanding Receiver), O’Brien (Outstanding Quarterback), Walker (Outstanding Running Back), Walter Camp (Outstanding Player), Manning (Outstanding Quarterback), Lott (Defensive Impact Player).

    Alabama and LSU had the most players on the combined lists with 12 followed by Florida with 11, Arkansas 9, Texas A&M 8, Auburn 7 and Mississippi State, South Carolina and Tennessee with six each.

    Last season, the SEC had four recipients of the 17 awards – Alabama’s Barrett Jones (Outland), LSU’s Morris Claiborne (Thorpe), LSU’s Tyrann Mathieu (Bednarik) and Alabama’s Trent Richardson (Walker).

    Since 2006, SEC football players and coaches have won 51 national individual post-season awards, an average of more than eight per season.  Of the 29 individual awards given last season (includes ones that do not issue a watch list), the SEC has had at least one recipient in 24 of them since 2006.  Four SEC players have won national player of the year in five times in the last six seasons – Arkansas’ Darren McFadden (2007, Walter Camp), Florida’s Tim Tebow (2007, Heisman & Maxwell; 2008, Maxwell); Alabama’s Mark Ingram (2009, Heisman); and, Auburn’s Cam Newton (2010, Heisman, Maxwell and Camp).

    The Bednarik Award:
    The Maxwell Award:
    The Rimington Award:
    The Mackey Award:
    The Groza Award:
    The Ray Guy Award:
    The Outland Trophy:
    The Nagurski Award:
    The Butkus Award:
    The Manning Award:
    Rotary Lombardi Award:
    Biletnikoff Award:
    Allstate AFCA Good Works Team:
    Davey O'Brien Award:
    Doak Walker Award:
    Walter Camp Award: