Nagurski Trophy Watch List Unveiled > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Nagurski Trophy Watch List Unveiled

    SEC has national-best 19 players on List

    DALLAS (FWAA) – The 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List features the best and brightest of the upcoming season's defensive players.

    One of 84 players on the list most likely will receive the Bronko Nagurski Trophy that is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and independents BYU and Notre Dame are represented on the list that is led by 30 standout linebackers.

    Players may be added or deleted from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the season. For the 12th consecutive season, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week. If a recipient is not on the Watch List, he will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 15.

    The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

    The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet presented by ACN will be Dec. 3 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2012 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award presented by Florida East Coast Railway. Nebraska's Larry Jacobson, an end from the FWAA's 1971 All-American team, will be honored. Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.


    CB Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
    DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
    S Matt Elam, Florida
    DT Sharrif Floyd, Florida
    DL John Jenkins, Georgia
    LB Nico Johnson, Alabama
    LB Jarvis Jones, Georgia
    DE Corey Lemonier, Auburn
    S Robert Lester, Alabama
    DT Rob Lohr, Vanderbilt
    CB Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
    CB Dee Milliner, Alabama
    DE Barkevious Mingo, LSU
    DE Sam Montgomery, LSU
    LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama
    LB Sean Porter, Texas A&M
    S Eric Reid, LSU
    DE Devin Taylor, South Carolina
    DL Jesse Williams, Alabama

    By conference: SEC (19), Big Ten (14), Big 12 (13), ACC (11), Pac-12 (10), Big East (4), Conference USA (3), Independents (3), MAC (3), Mountain West (2), Sun Belt (1), WAC (1).