SEC Places 16 on Butkus Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Places 16 on Butkus Watch List

    The 28th annual Butkus Award® selection process to honor the nation's best linebackers began Monday with announcement of the collegiate pre-season watch list.

    Each watch list contains 51 candidates, honoring the now-retired professional jersey number of Dick Butkus, who is regarded by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history. The selection panel is comprised of 51 coaches, evaluators and journalists, coordinated by Pro Football Weekly.

    The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes 51 candidates from 38 universities. Manti Te'o of Notre Dame is the only returning finalist, after having won the inaugural High School Butkus Award in 2008.

    Candidates in addition to those appearing on the watch list may be considered for the Award.

    Semi-finalists will be named October 22, finalists November 20, and winners will be notified on or before December 4.

    Denicos Allen, Michigan State University
    Dion Bailey, University of Southern California
    Steve Beauharnais, Rutgers University
    Chris Borland, University of Wisconsin
    Jonathan Bostic, University of Florida
    Arthur Brown, Kansas State University
    Jonathan Brown, University of Illinois
    Max Bullough, Michigan State University
    Jamie Collins, University of Southern Mississippi
    Ja'Gared Davis, Southern Methodist University
    Zaviar Gooden, University of Missouri
    Jeremiah Greene, University of Nevada
    Khaseem Greene, Rutgers University
    Alanzo Highsmith, University of Arkansas
    Gerald Hodges, Penn State University
    DeVonte Holloman, University of South Carolina
    Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky University
    Jelani Jenkins, University of Florida
    A.J. Johnson, University of Tennessee
    Nico Johnson, University of Alabama

    Christian Jones, Florida State University
    Jarvis Jones, University of Georgia
    Uona Kaveinga, Brigham Young University
    A.J. Klein, Iowa State University
    Jake Knott, Iowa State University
    Cameron Lawrence, Mississippi State University
    Travis Long, Washington State University
    John Lotulelei, University of Florida
    Brandon Magee, Arizona State University
    Michael Mauti, Penn State University
    Lerentee McCray, University of Florida
    Kevin Minter, Louisiana State University
    Nick Moody, Florida State University
    Damontre Moore, Texas A&M University
    Sio Moore, University of Connecticut
    James Morris, University of Iowa
    C.J. Mosley, University of Alabama
    Trent Murphy, Stanford University
    David Nwabuisi, Northwestern University
    Sean Porter, Texas A&M University
    Keith Pough, Howard University
    Kevin Reddick, University of North Carolina
    Douglas Rippy, University of Colorado
    Etienne Sabino, Ohio State
    Shane Skov, Stanford University
    Kenny Tate, University of Maryland
    Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech
    Manti Te'o, University of Notre Dame
    Chase Thomas, Stanford University
    Cornelius Washington, University of Georgia
    Tom Wort, University of Oklahoma