SEC Places 10 on Biletnikoff Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Places 10 on Biletnikoff Award Watch List

    TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, has released the 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List. The award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 180 prominent football journalists, commentators, and receivers. The 2012 winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:30 - 9:30pm on ESPN. Foundation Chairman Walter Manley, II, announced that the Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy before 600 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 9, 2013. Larry Csonka will deliver the keynote address (following a tradition of distinguished keynoters like Bart Starr, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, and Dan Fouts) and recognize the Foundation's fifteen scholarship recipients who will receive from the Foundation well over $200,000 in college scholarships. The Foundation's charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels.

    The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 12, 2012, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 19, 2012. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at

    The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

    The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Sixteen college receivers have won the award, including Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald. Foundation Selection Committee Chairman Ritchie Pickron noted, "The 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List contains one of the most talented fields in recent memory. We are expecting an extremely competitive contest among the receivers to win the Biletnikoff Award."

    2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List (listed in alphabetical order)

    Player School Year
    Jared Abbrederis Wisconsin JR
    Keenan Allen California JR
    Tavon Austin West Virginia SR
    Stedman Bailey West Virginia JR
    Emory Blake Auburn SR
    Josh Boyce TCU JR
    Jheranie Boyd North Carolina SR
    Corey Brown Ohio State JR
    Dan Buckner Arizona SR
    Michael Campanaro Wake Forest JR
    DeVonte Christopher Utah SR
    Keenan Davis Iowa SR
    Marcus Davis Virgina Tech SR
    Mike Davis Texas JR
    Andre Debose Florida JR
    Aaron Dobson Marshall SR
    Noel Grigsby San Jose State JR
    Cobi Hamilton Arkansas SR
    Nick Harwell Miami (Ohio) JR
    Willie Haulstead Florida State JR
    Erik Highsmith North Carolina SR
    Cody Hoffman BYU JR
    DeAndre Hopkins Clemson JR
    Justin Hunter Tennessee JR
    Allen Hurns Miami (Fla.) JR
    Darius Johnson SMU SR
    TJ Jones Notre Dame JR
    Tavarres King Georgia SR
    Alec Lemon Syracuse SR
    Colin Lockett San Diego St. JR
    Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt JR
    Matt Miller Boise State SO
    T.J. Moe Missouri SR
    Uzoma Nwachukwu Texas A&M SR
    Quinton Patton La. Tech SR
    Tevin Reese Baylor JR
    Da'Rick Rogers Tennessee JR
    Roy Roundtree Michigan SR
    Mike Shanahan Pittsburgh SR
    Kenny Stills Oklahoma JR
    Devin Street Pittsburgh JR
    Ryan Swope Texas A&M SR
    Conner Vernon Duke SR
    Eric Ward Texas Tech JR
    Markus Wheaton Oregon State SR
    Terrance Williams Baylor SR
    Marquess Wilson Washington State JR
    Robert Woods USC JR

    About the Biletnikoff Award
    The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation's outstanding college football receiver (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass) by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. (TQC). The TQC Foundation, Inc. is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994. Present Chairman and Founding Trustee, Professor Walter W. Manley II, Founding Trustee L. Thomas Cox, Jr., Founding Trustee Rocky Bevis, and Founding Trustee Bob Teel established the award and the TQC Foundation, Inc. that
    sponsors it. Many more trustees have contributed to its development as one of the most prominent awards in college football.

    The idea of a college receiver's award was not a novel one, as a number of organizations throughout America considered establishing it; however, the TQC Foundation, Inc. joined the idea to the organization's vision and created an outstanding award and dynamic organization. The trophy, presented to each winner, is the most beautiful individual award in college football - it has won several national awards for design excellence and aesthetic appeal.