Six SEC Quarterbacks Make O'Brien Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Six SEC Quarterbacks Make O'Brien Award Watch List

    FORT WORTH, Texas -  The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced the 2012 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List today.   

    This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season.  

    Seven 2011 semifinalists are included on the Watch List: Matt Barkley (USC), Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Seth Doege (Texas Tech), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Keith Price (Washington), Denard Robinson (Michigan) and Tyler Wilson (Arkansas)
    Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6.

    The 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

    2012 Davey O'Brien Watch List

    Ryan Aplin, Arkansas State, Sun Belt
    Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12
    Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC
    Tyler Bray, Tennessee, SEC
    Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East
    Alex Carder, Western Michigan, MAC
    Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC
    B.J. Daniels, USF, Big East
    Seth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12
    Cody Fajardo, Nevada, MWC
    James Franklin, Missouri, SEC
    Mike Glennon, N.C. State, ACC
    Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12
    Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12
    EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC
    Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten
    AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC
    Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
    Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
    Riley Nelson, BYU, Independent
    Casey Pachall, TCU, Big 12
    Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12
    Sean Renfree, Duke, ACC
    Bryn Renner, North Carolina, ACC
    Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten
    Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois, Big Ten
    Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC
    Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12
    Trent Steelman, Army, Independent
    Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC
    Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech, ACC
    Jeff Tuel, Washington St, Pac-12
    James Vandenberg, Iowa, Big Ten
    Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, SEC

    About the Davey O'Brien O'Brien National Quarterback Award®      
    The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

    The Davey O'Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,