SEC Places Six on Doak Walker Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Places Six on Doak Walker Watch List

    DALLAS, TEXAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today the preseason candidates for the 2012 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.
    The field of 52 candidates is highlighted by 2011 Doak Walker Award finalist Montee Ball from the University of Wisconsin. Ball, a senior from Wentzville, Missouri, led the nation in rushing yards and scoring last season. Other nominees include 2011 semifinalists Rex Burkhead (Nebraska), Zach Line (SMU) and Joseph Randle (Oklahoma State).
    Nominations for the award will be accepted through October. The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

    Michael Alisa (Jr.), BYU
    Montee Ball (Sr.), Wisconsin
    Kenjon Barner (Sr.), Oregon
    Le′Veon Bell (Jr.), Michigan State
    Giovani Bernard (So.), North Carolina
    Rex Burkhead (Sr.), Nebraska
    Jesse Callier (Jr.), Washington
    Benny Cunningham (Sr.), Middle Tennessee
    Orleans Darkwa (Jr.), Tulane
    Knile Davis (Jr.), Arkansas
    Andre Ellington (Sr.), Clemson
    Johnathan Franklin (Sr.), UCLA
    Ray Graham (Sr.), Pittsburgh
    Gee Gee Greene (Sr.), Navy
    Jordan Hall (Sr.), Ohio State
    D.J. Harper (Sr.), Boise State
    John Hubert (Jr.), Kansas State
    Michael James (Sr.), Miami
    Waymon James (Jr.), TCU
    Nathan Jeffery (So.), UTEP
    Walter Kazee (Sr.), San Diego State
    Eddie Lacy (Jr.), Alabama
    Marcus Lattimore (Jr.), South Carolina
    Hunter Lee (So.), Louisiana Tech
    Zach Line (Sr.), SMU
    Raymond Maples (Jr.), Army
    Cameron Marshall (Sr.), Arizona State
    Onterio McCalebb (Sr.), Auburn
    Lyle McCombs (So.), Connecticut
    Curtis McNeal (Sr.), USC
    Christine Michael (Sr.), Texas A&M
    Latavius Murray (Sr.), UCF
    Branden Oliver (Jr.), Buffalo
    Joseph Randle (Jr.), Oklahoma State
    Silas Redd (Jr.), Penn State
    Kedrick Rhodes (Jr.), Florida International
    Robbie Rouse (Sr.), Fresno State
    Jarred Salubi (Sr.), Baylor
    Anthon Samuel (So.), Bowling Green
    Orwin Smith (Sr.), Georgia Tech
    Isi Sofele (Sr.), California
    Shawn Southward (Sr.), Troy
    Zac Stacy (Sr.), Vanderbilt
    Eric Stephens (Sr.), Texas Tech
    Stepfan Taylor (Sr.), Stanford
    Fitzgerald Toussaint (Jr.), Michigan
    Matthew Tucker (Sr.), TCU
    James White (Jr.), Iowa State
    James White (Jr.), Wisconsin
    John White (Sr.), Utah
    Kerwynn Williams (Sr.), Utah State
    Cierre Wood (Sr.), Notre Dame
    The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on November 9, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 19. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on November 26 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.
    The recipient of the 2012 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 6, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas, in February 2013.
    The award, in its 23nd year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.