Twelve SEC Players On Hornung Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Twelve SEC Players On Hornung Watch List

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. – A nation-leading 12 Southeastern Conference representatives are among the 49 multi-talented college football players named to the 2012 Watch List for the Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, the Louisville Sports Commission announced Thursday.

    The Paul Hornung Award, now in its third season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend Paul Hornung.

    The 2012 Watch List was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2011 statistics, career performance and expectations heading into the 2012 season. Profiles of each player and information about the Award can be found on

    The SEC is the leading conference with 12 players followed by the Pac-12 with 10 selections. The Big Ten and Big 12 each have six representatives.

    “The Paul Hornung Award Watch List for the upcoming season is an impressive group of players who excel at multiple positions to help their teams win, which is how I played the game,” Hornung said. “It will be interesting to see which players excel during the season and emerge as the top choices of our Selection Committee.”

    The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players that often go unnoticed. Owen Marecic of Stanford, a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker, won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award; Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award in 2011 after excelling on defense, offense and special teams.

    2012 Paul Hornung Award Watch List

    Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin
    Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
    Keenan Allen, California
    Tavon Austin, West Virginia
    Kenjon Barner, Oregon
    Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
    D.J. Beshears, Kansas
    Matt Brown, Temple
    Chad Bumphis, Mississippi State
    Trey Burton, Florida

    Adrian Bushell, Louisville
    Jesse Callier, Washington
    Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest
    Brandon Carter, TCU
    Tommy Davis, Illinois
    Quandre Diggs, Texas
    Jerry “BooBoo” Gates, Bowling Green
    Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
    Jordan Hall, Ohio State
    Dustin Harris, Texas A&M
    Terry Hawthorne, Illinois
    Dennis Johnson, Arkansas
    Chandler Jones, San Jose State
    Perry Jones, Virginia
    Tracy Lampley, Southern Mississippi
    Marqise Lee, Southern California
    Josh Lenz, Iowa State
    Venric Marks, Northwestern
    Onterio McCaleb, Auburn
    Qunicy McDuffe, Central Florida
    Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
    Jamal Miles, Arizona State
    T.J. Moe, Missouri
    Ty Montgomery, Stanford
    Warren Norman, Vanderbilt
    Jordan Poyer, Oregon State
    Theo Riddick, Notre Dame
    Nickell Robey, Southern California
    Ace Sanders, South Carolina
    Jeff Scott, Ole Miss
    Branden Smith, Georgia

    Orwin Smith, Georgia Tech
    Darryl Surgent, Louisiana-Lafayette
    De’Anthony Thomas, Oregon
    Justin Veltung, Idaho
    Sammy Watkins, Clemson
    Trey Watts, Tulsa
    Kerwynn Williams, Utah State
    Robert Woods, Southern California