Tennessee Picked to Win 2012 SEC Volleyball Title > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Tennessee Picked to Win 2012 SEC Volleyball Title

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference’s 13 coaches have selected the Tennessee Lady Vols to win the 2012 SEC volleyball title in a preseason vote announced Monday. Coming off a 19-1 SEC season and 28-4 overall mark, the Lady Vols received 12 of 13 first-place votes for this year’s prediction. The Florida Gators received a first-place vote after finishing 27-6 overall and 17-3 in the SEC last season.  

    Tennessee received 12 points to win the Eastern Division, followed by Kentucky with 30 points and Florida with 35.  Missouri was picked fourth with 37 points while Georgia (56 points) and South Carolina (67 points) were picked to finish fifth and sixth in the division, respectively.     

    For the fifth consecutive season, the LSU Tigers are predicted to win the Western Division with 20 points and seven first-place votes.  The Tigers posted a 12-8 league mark and a 19-11 overall record last season and have won seven straight division titles.  The Texas A&M Aggies were selected to finish second with 22 points, and the Arkansas Razorbacks were picked third with 27 points.  Ole Miss was selected fourth with 52 points while Auburn was picked fifth with 58 points. The Alabama Crimson Tide (65 points) are picked to finish sixth while the Mississippi State Bulldogs, predicted seventh with 71 points, round out the Western Division votes.                                             

    Points were compiled on a 1-2-3-4-5-6-7 basis for the Western Division and 1-2-3-4-5-6 for the Eastern Division. Each coach is not allowed to vote for his or her own team and each coach also voted for one team as an overall conference champion.

    The 2012 Preseason All-SEC team will be announced on Tuesday, August 7 while the 2012 season kicks off on Friday, Aug. 24. SEC conference play begins on Sept. 12.    

    Preseason Coaches Poll
    (First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

    SEC Champion: Tennessee (12), Florida (1)    

    Eastern Division
    Team                                     Points
    Tennessee (12)                   12
    Kentucky                              30
    Florida (1)                            35
    Missouri                               37
    Georgia                                56
    South Carolina                     67    

    Western Division
    Team                                     Points
    LSU                                        20
    Texas A&M                            22
    Arkansas                               27
    Ole Miss                                 52
    Auburn                                  58
    Alabama                                65
    Mississippi State                   71