SEC Releases Women's Hoops Conference Schedule > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Releases Women's Hoops Conference Schedule

    Birmingham, Ala. -- The 2013 women’s basketball conference schedule has been released by the Southeastern Conference office.  

    The conference season will begin on Thursday, January 3 and end on Sunday, March 3.  All games times and the television schedule will be announced at a later date.

    This marks the fourth year of the 16-game schedule for women’s basketball and the first with 14 teams.  The University of Missouri and Texas A&M University officially joined the league on July 1 and will compete in all sports for the first time this upcoming season.

    The schedule for women’s basketball is a single round robin with one permanent opponent and 2 random opponents.   The permanent opponents are: Alabama – Auburn; Arkansas – Missouri; Florida – Georgia; Kentucky – South Carolina; LSU – Texas A&M; Ole Miss – Mississippi State; and Tennessee – Vanderbilt. The random opponents will change annually.

    This year two games have been moved off the traditional Sunday play date to be featured in ESPN’s Big Monday package.  On February 4 Texas A&M will travel to LSU for an 8 pm CT tip and on February 18 Kentucky will play at Texas A&M in a Play 4Kay game.  That game is scheduled to tip at 6 pm CT. In addition, the Notre Dame at Tennessee on January 28 will also be featured in the Big Monday package. That game is set to tip at 7 pm ET.  The remainder of the TV schedule will be released at a later date.   

    During the week of January 13-20, SEC member institutions will participate in the second annual “We Back Pat” Week.  The week-long initiative is focused on bringing awareness and recognition to the Pat Summitt Foundation Fund of East Tennessee Foundation and its fight against Alzheimer’s disease.  Additional information on the Foundation Fund can be found at

    The regular season concludes with the 2013 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament held at the Arena at Gwinnett Center in Duluth, Ga.  The tournament will include all 14 teams and begins on Wednesday, March 6 and concludes with the championship game on Sunday, March 10.


    Cartell: SEC Women's Basketball Has New Feel In 2012-13