Mathies and Foggie Named To "Wade Watch" List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Mathies and Foggie Named To "Wade Watch" List

    Kentucky's A'dia Mathies & Vanderbilt's Christina Foggie have been named to the preseason “Wade Watch” list for The State Farm Wade Trophy, as announced by The State Farm Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport. The award is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA Division I women’s basketball player.

    Mathies, who was named one of 12 finalists for the Wade trophy last March, led UK in scoring (15 ppg), assists (2.7 apg), steals (2.6 spg) and 3-point field goal percentage (.378) last season. The 2012 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year ranked second on the team in rebounds (5.1 rpg), 3-point field goals made (51) and was third in blocks (21). The Louisville, Ky., native has climbed to No. 12 on the school’s all-time scoring list with 1,435 and is sixth on the career steals list with 251.  In addition to being named the SEC Player of the Year by the coaches and The Associated Press, Mathies’ additional 2012 accolades include being named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association and AP All-America Teams, the All-SEC first team (coaches and AP), the All-SEC Defensive Team and the SEC All-Tournament team.

    Foggie led the SEC in scoring in 2012, averaging 17.7 points per game. She was also the league's leader in three-point field goal percentage (41.6) and three-point field goals per game (2.8), while finishing second in the league in free-throw percentage (83.2). In conference play, the Mount Laurel, N.J., native was even more impressive. Against SEC teams she averaged 18.0 points per game, shooting 43.6% from the field and 37.5% from three-point range. She scored double-digits in 29 of 33 games, including 12 contests of over 20 points. For her efforts, Foggie earned WBCA All-Region honors, as well as First Team All-SEC honors from both the league's coaches and the Associated Press.

    Now in its 36th year, the State Farm Wade Trophy is named in honor of the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. Regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball," the award is presented annually to the NCAA® Division I Player of the Year by the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) and the WBCA.