SEC Has Two Candidates for Senior CLASS Award > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Has Two Candidates for Senior CLASS Award

    OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Thirty NCAA women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.
    An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
    The 2012 candidate class includes 16 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans from last season. Twenty-four of the 30 candidates have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. One of the candidates was recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as a 2011 Capital One Academic All-American. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship, which will take place December 13 and 15 in Louisville, Kentucky.
    The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

    For more information on all the candidates, visit
    Volleyball Candidates

    Lesli Akeo, Siena
    Andrea Beck, Wake Forest
    Alaina Bergsma, Oregon
    Megan Bober, Creighton
    Amy Braun, Northern Iowa
    Danielle Carlson, Marquette
    Karissa Cook, Stanford
    Dana Cranston, Colorado State
    Kasey Elswick, Tennessee-Martin
    Ashley Frazier, Kentucky
    Katie Fuller, Southern California
    Krysta Gardner, Bethune-Cookman
    Christiana Gray, Duke
    Andrea Hannasch, San Diego State
    Altrese Hawkins, Memphis
    Rachel Iaquaniello, Eastern Michigan
    Rachael Kidder, UCLA
    Faimie Kingsley, Denver
    Rachel Krabacher, Dayton
    Alison Landwehr, Iowa State
    Gina Mancuso, Nebraska
    Lindsey Miller, Texas A&M
    Jodi Purdy, Wyoming
    Taylor Root, Valparaiso
    Robin Rostratter, California
    Sam Serley, UAB
    Jamie Straube, Iowa State
    Ariel Turner, Purdue
    Kate Van Dyke, Georgia Southern
    Breanne Van Every, Idaho State