Nine from SEC Named Campbell Semifinalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Nine from SEC Named Campbell Semifinalists

    DALLAS - Selected as the best and brightest from the college gridiron, The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today the 147 candidates for the 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments®, a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans in higher education. The 147 nominees also comprise the list of semifinalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

    "This year's candidates truly embody the National Football Foundation's mission of building leaders through football," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. "They are standouts in the classroom and on the field and have become leaders in their respective communities. Each school should take great pride in being represented by such well-rounded young men who will undoubtedly go on to do great things in life."

    Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

    "The NFF would like to personally congratulate each of the nominees for maintaining such high standards throughout their collegiate careers," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "We are extremely proud to showcase their achievements, and there is no question that the NFF Awards Committee will have an incredibly difficult task in selecting the final group of honorees from among this esteemed group."

    The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients, and the results will be announced via a national press release on Thursday, October 25. Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy. Each member of the 2012 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City to be honored December 4 during the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf=Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the Campbell Trophy.

    Named in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient's grant by $7,000 for a total post-graduate scholarship of $25,000. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner, pushing the program's all-time distributions to more than $10.1 million.

    Launched in 1959, the NFF scholar-athlete program became the first initiative in history to award post-graduate scholarships based on both a player's academic and athletic accomplishments. The Campbell Trophy, first awarded in 1990, adds to the program's mystique, having previously honored two Rhodes Scholars, a Rhodes Scholar finalist, two Heisman Trophy winners and five first-round NFL draft picks.

    In 2011, the NFF and Fidelity launched a multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education. As part of the initiative, Fidelity became the first presenting sponsor ever in the 54-year history of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program. Fidelity also helped launch the NFF Faculty Salutes Initiative, which recognizes the contributions of the faculty athletics representatives at each of the institutions with an NFF National Scholar-Athlete. As part of the initiative, the NFF will present each of the faculty representatives with a plaque and a $5,000 check from Fidelity Investments to support the academic support services for student-athletes at each school.

    The past recipients of the Campbell Trophy include: Air Force's Chris Howard (1990); Florida's Brad Culpepper (1991); Colorado's Jim Hansen (1992); Virginia's Thomas Burns (1993); Nebraska's Rob Zatechka (1994); Ohio State's Bobby Hoying (1995); Florida's Danny Wuerffel (1996); Tennessee's Peyton Manning (1997); Georgia's Matt Stinchcomb (1998); Marshall's Chad Pennington (1999); Nebraska's Kyle Vanden Bosch (2000); Miami's (Fla.) Joaquin Gonzalez (2001); Washington University in St. Louis' Brandon Roberts (2002); Ohio State's Craig Krenzel (2003); Tennessee's Michael Munoz (2004); LSU's Rudy Niswanger (2005); Rutgers' Brian Leonard (2006); Texas' Dallas Griffin (2007); Cal's Alex Mack (2008); Florida's Tim Tebow (2009); Texas' Sam Acho (2010); and Army's Andrew Rodriguez (2011).


    3.57 Average GPA
    29 nominees with a 3.80 GPA or better
    91 Team Captains
    74 All-Conference Picks
    21 Academic All-America Selections
    14 All-America Selections
    50 Nominees from the Football Bowl Subdivision
    35 Nominees from the Football Championship Subdivision
    12 Nominees from the Division II
    41 Nominees from the Division III
    9 Nominees from the NAIA
    68 Offensive Players
    53 Defensive Players
    26 Special Teams Players


    Football Bowl Subdivision
    Alabama -- Barrett Jones
    Arkansas -- Dylan Breeding

    Army -- Zach Watts
    Auburn -- Ashton Richardson
    Ball State -- Scott Kovanda
    Baylor -- Nick Florence
    Brigham Young -- Riley Nelson
    California -- Matt Summers-Gavin
    Central Florida -- Lyle Dankenbring
    Clemson -- Dalton Freeman
    Colorado -- Dustin Ebner
    Duke -- Sean Renfree
    Eastern Michigan -- Alex Gillett
    Florida -- Caleb Sturgis
    Florida State -- Dustin Hopkins
    Georgia -- Ty Frix
    Indiana -- Adam Replogle
    Iowa -- James Vandenberg
    Iowa State -- Carter Bykowski
    Kentucky -- Matt Smith
    Louisiana Tech -- Matt Nelson
    Mississippi -- Tyler Campbell
    Missouri -- T.J. Moe
    Navy -- Keegan Wetzel
    Nebraska -- Rex Burkhead
    North Carolina -- Pete Mangum
    North Carolina State -- McKay Frandsen
    Northern Illinois -- Nabal Jefferson
    Northwestern -- Patrick Ward
    Notre Dame -- Manti Te'o
    Ohio -- Matt Weller
    Ohio State -- Ben Buchanan
    Penn State -- Pete Massaro
    Purdue -- Robert Maci
    Rutgers -- Duron Harmon
    San Jose State -- Travis Johnson
    South Carolina -- Seth Strickland
    South Florida -- Evan Landi
    Southern California -- Matt Barkley
    Syracuse -- Ryan Nassib
    Texas -- Marquise Goodwin
    Texas Tech -- Cody Davis
    Toledo -- Dan Molls
    UCLA -- Jeff Locke
    Utah -- Sean Sellwood
    Virginia Tech -- Joey Phillips
    West Virginia -- Jeff Braun
    Western Michigan -- Chris Prom
    Wisconsin -- Shelton Johnson
    Wyoming -- Luke Ruff