LSU Takes Down Texas A&M > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    LSU Takes Down Texas A&M


    Video Box Score
    By Scott Crumbly
    Twitter: @ScottCrumbly
    SEC Digital Network
    COLLEGE STATION, Texas. – The LSU Tigers overcame a 12-point first half deficit at Kyle Field on Saturday to grab a Southeastern Conference win in College Station, 24-19. The Tigers (7-1, 3-1 SEC) picked off A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel three times on the afternoon and did not allow him to throw a touchdown on 56 attempts in the win.
    LSU signal-caller Zach Mettenberger completed only 37 percent of his passes against the Aggies (5-2, 2-2), but he connected with wide-out Kadron Boone in the closing seconds of the first half that gave the Tigers their first lead that they would not relinquish. Jeremy Hill had a big game on the ground for LSU for the second week in a row, carrying the ball 18 times for 127 yards and a score to pace the Tigers.
    Manziel was leading the NCAA in total offense coming into the showdown with LSU, but the Tigers limited the redshirt freshman to 303 total yards and zero touchdowns after setting SEC and school records last week at Louisiana Tech. A&M’s Ben Malena and Christine Michael recorded the Aggies’ only touchdowns on the ground.
    Texas A&M committed five turnovers on the day while LSU managed to avoid any turnovers of its own.
    Statistical Leaders
    Texas A&M

    Passing – Johnny Manziel, 29-for-56, 278 yards, 3 INT
    Rushing – Ben Malena, 12 car, 82 yards, TD
    Receiving – Ryan Swope, 10 rec, 81 yards
    Passing – Zach Mettenberger, 11-for-29, 97 yards, TD
    Rushing – Jeremy Hill, 18 att, 127 yards, TD
    Receiving – Kadron Boone, 4 rec, 49 yards, TD
    Quick Notes

    ·Texas A&M and LSU played an annual home-and-home series from 1986-1995, and this was the first meeting between the two squads since the Aggies joined the SEC.
    · Since 1970, the Aggies and Tigers are now 9-9 in their 19 meetings.
    · LSU was the first top-10 team to come to College Station since No. 7 Oklahoma in 2011.