Media Tabs Kentucky As SEC Men’s Basketball Champion > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Media Tabs Kentucky As SEC Men’s Basketball Champion

    Birmingham, Ala. -- Kentucky was predicted to win the 2013 Southeastern Conference men’s basketball championship in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members. Each SEC school selected media members that cover their team and additional media from across the nation were selected by the conference office to form the voting panel.

    The Wildcats, who are coming off a 38-2 season that saw them post a 16-0 record in the SEC on their way to winning their eighth national championship, earned 17 first-place votes. Florida earned five first-place votes while Missouri and Tennessee each received one vote.

    Last week Kentucky was ranked third nationally in the preseason ESPN/USA Today Coaches’ hoops poll while Florida was 10th and Missouri was 17th. Tennessee and Georgia were among the teams receiving votes.

    Missouri junior Phil Pressey was the choice of the media for SEC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year with six votes. Florida senior Kenny Boynton finished second (five votes) while Arkansas’ BJ Young, Kentucky’s Nerlens Noel and Tennessee’s Jarnell Stokes each received three votes. Arkansas’ Marshawn Powell, Missouri’s Michael Dixon, Jr. and Tennessee’s Jeronne Maymon received one vote each in the Player of the Year voting.

    Boynton, Noel, Pressey, Stokes and Young were each All-SEC First Team selections.

    Dixon and Maymon were joined on the All-SEC Second team by Arkansas’ Marshawn Powell, Florida’s Patric Young, Georgia’s Kentavious Caldwell-Pope and Kentucky’s Alex Poythress.

    Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team.

    The 2012-13 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Day, October 25 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama. The 2012-13 season begins November 9, with conference play set to begin January 8. The 2013 SEC Tournament will be held March 13-17 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

    First Team All-SEC
    BJ Young – Arkansas, G, 6-3, 180, So., St. Louis, Mo.
    Kenny Boynton – Florida, G, 6-2, 190, Sr., Pompano Beach, Fla.
    Nerlens Noel – Kentucky, F, 6-10, 228, Fr.,            Everett, Mass.
    Phil Pressey – Missouri, G, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas
    Jarnell Stokes – Tennessee, F, 6-8, 270, So., Memphis, Tenn.

    Second Team All-SEC
    Marshawn Powell – Arkansas, F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Newport News, Va.
    Patric Young – Florida, C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.
    Kentavious Caldwell-Pope – Georgia, G, 6-5, 205, So., Greenville, Ga.
    Alex Poythress – Kentucky, F, 6-7, 239, Fr., Clarksville, Tenn.
    Michael Dixon, Jr. – Missouri, G, 6-1        , 190, Sr., Kansas City, Mo.
    Jeronne Maymon – Tennessee, F, 6-7, 260, Sr., Madison, Wis.

    SEC Player of the Year: Phil Pressey, Missouri

    Preseason Media Poll   
    Kentucky (17)    328
    Florida (5)          310
    Missouri (1)       286
    Tennessee (1)  269
    Arkansas           226
    Alabama            222
    Ole Miss            186
    Georgia             149
    Texas A&M        122
    Vanderbilt          120
    LSU                    116
    Auburn                95
    South Carolina  54
    Mississippi State 37

    First-Place Votes in Parentheses