2012 SEC Cross Country Championships Set For Friday > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    2012 SEC Cross Country Championships Set For Friday

    Men's Entries | Women's Entries
    SEC Cross Country Championship Homepage


    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference and Vanderbilt University are slated to play host to the 2012 SEC Cross Country Championships on Friday, Oct. 26 at Percy Warner Park in Nashville, Tenn.

    The women’s 6K race is scheduled for a 10 a.m. CT start, while the men’s 8K race will commence at 11 a.m. CT. An awards ceremony will follow the races. The official meet Web sites are: http://www.secdigitalnetwork.com/SECSPORTS/CHAMPIONSHIPS/2012CrossCountryChampionship.aspx and http://www.vucommodores.com/ot/2012-sec-xc-championships.html.

    Admission to the 2012 SEC Cross Country Championships is free.

    The defending SEC men’s cross country champion is Arkansas, which has claimed 19 of the last 21 conference team titles. The defending women’s SEC cross country champion is Vanderbilt, which captured its first-ever league title last season.

    Six SEC teams are ranked entering this weekend’s meet – three on the men’s side and three on the women’s side – in the latest poll from the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

    Arkansas is the highest-ranked SEC men’s team, checking in at No. 9 in the USTFCCCA poll. Georgia is ranked No. 28, while Texas A&M is No. 29. Fellow SEC team Florida also is receiving votes.

    Arkansas is the top-rated SEC women’s team, checking in at No. 12 in the USTFCCCA poll. Vanderbilt is No. 28 in the latest poll, while Florida checks in at No. 30. Fellow SEC team Kentucky also is receiving votes.

    Texas A&M’s Henry Lelei is the SEC men’s leader at the championship distance this season, holding an 8K time of 23:26. The defending SEC Champion, Eric Fernandez, of Arkansas, is second in the SEC this season with an 8K time of 23:36. Fernandez is looking to become the SEC’s first repeat individual champion since Barnabas Kirui of Ole Miss in 2009 and 2010.

    Kentucky’s Cally Macumber is the SEC women’s leader at the championship distance this season, having clocked a 6K time of 20:09. Macumber looks to become the first UK woman to win an SEC individual cross country title since Valerie McGovern claimed victory in 1989.

    Tennessee has won a league-leading 25 men’s SEC cross country titles, but has not taken home the title since 1990. Arkansas is second with 19 crowns, including the last two.

    Arkansas has captured a league-leading 13 women’s SEC cross country championships, while Florida and Tennessee have each taken home five apiece.

    Complete coverage of the 2012 SEC Cross Country Championships will be available on the SEC Digital Network and by following @SEC_Sean on Twitter.