SEC With Players On Bednarik, Maxwell Lists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC With Players On Bednarik, Maxwell Lists

    Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2012 Semifinalists for the 76th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award presented by Cracker Barrel for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.

    The winners of the 76th Maxwell Award and the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on December 6, 2012. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 19, 2012 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Gala which will be held on Friday, March 1, 2013 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

    Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday, October 30th and close on Sunday November 18th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.
    2012 Maxwell Award Semifinalists (SEC Only)
    Mike Gillislee     Sr    RB     University of Florida
    Jarvis Jones     Jr    LB    University of Georgia
    Johnny Manziel    Fr    QB    Texas A&M University
    AJ McCarron     Jr     QB    University of Alabama

    2012 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists (SEC Only)
    Johnthan Banks    Sr    DB    Mississippi State University
    Jadeveon Clowney     Soph    DE    University of South Carolina
    Matt Elam     Jr    DB    University of Florida
    Jarvis Jones     Jr    LB    University of Georgia
    Dee Milliner     Jr    DB    University of Alabama
    Sam Montgomery     Jr    LB    Louisiana State University
    Damontre Moore    Jr    DL    Texas A&M University
    C.J. Mosley    Jr    LB    University of Alabama