NCAA selects Today’s Top 10 for 2013 > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    NCAA selects Today’s Top 10 for 2013

    The NCAA has selected 10 extraordinary student-athletes who will be honored in January as the Today’s Top 10 Award winners.
    The honorees are:
    Nick Amuchastegui: Stanford University, wrestling
    Miles Batty: Brigham Young University, cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field
    Ashley Brignac: University of Louisiana at Lafayette, softball
    Micah Davis: Delta State University, football
    Robert Griffin III: Baylor University, football
    Stacey Hagensen: Pacific Lutheran University, softball
    Lindsay Lettow: University of Central Missouri, indoor and outdoor track and field
    Brooke Pancake: University of Alabama, golf
    Elizabeth Phillips: Washington University in St. Louis, cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field
    Wendy Trott: University of Georgia, swimming
    The NCAA Today’s Top 10 Award recognizes student-athletes who completed their athletics eligibility during the 2011-12 academic year for their success on the fields and courts, in the classroom, and in the community. Award recipients will be recognized at the Honors Celebration on Jan. 18 during the NCAA Convention in Grapevine, Texas.
    The NCAA Honors Committee selects the honorees. The committee is composed of athletics administrators at member institutions and nationally distinguished citizens who are former student-athletes
    Previously, the award recognized eight student-athletes and was known as Today’s Top VIII. The NCAA Honors Committee expanded the award to honor 10 student-athletes to recognize the increased number of student-athletes, sports and championship opportunities.
    Last year, the SEC had three student-athletes awarded the NCAA Today’s Top VIII, more than any other conference - Kelsey Bruder, Florida (Softball); Kayla Hoffman, Alabama (Gymnastics); Lee Ellis Moore, Ole Miss (Men’s Track and Field).   Since 2004, the Southeastern Conference has had 14 selections for this honor, more than any other conference.
    Biographies of Brooke Pancake (Alabama) and Wendy Trott (Georgia), SEC recipients …
    Brooke Pancake
    School: University of Alabama
    Major: Marketing
    GPA: 4.0
    Sport: Golf
    Brooke Pancake led the Crimson Tide to its first NCAA Division I women’s golf team title in 2012, with a runner-up finish individually. The Southeastern Conference Female Athlete of the Year won the 2012 Honda Sports Award, which recognized her as the national top female collegiate golfer. Pancake was the SEC’s 2012 Woman of the Year nominee and was a 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year finalist. A two-time first-team All-American, Pancake holds the second best scoring average in Alabama history. Her dedication to academics earned her CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-America of the Year honors in 2012 and the NCAA Elite 88 Award in 2010. Pancake is a two-time Edith Cummings Munson Award winner, given to the student-athlete with the highest GPA among first-team All-Americans. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee officer is a recipient of an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship and the SEC’s H. Boyd McWhorter Postgraduate Scholarship. Pancake impacted the Tuscaloosa community by volunteering at a disaster relief center following a tornado in April 2011. She also volunteered at the Caring Days Center and read to children with special needs.
    Wendy Trott
    School: University of Georgia
    Major: International affairs
    GPA: 3.97
    Sport: Swimming and diving
    Five-time Southeastern Conference champion Wendy Trott dominated the freestyle competition as a member of Georgia’s swimming team. Trott led her team to three national runner-up finishes and was a three-time NCAA individual champion in the 1,650 freestyle. With a cumulative GPA of 3.97, Trott was the SEC’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for swimming in 2012 and earned the NCAA Elite 89 Award the same year. She held leadership positions as a team captain and member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee while volunteering with Habitat for Humanity and the Northeast Georgia Food Bank. Her international and Olympic competition includes a 12th place finish at the 2012 Olympics representing South Africa and a gold medal at the 2011 Santa Clara International Grand Prix.