2012 SEC Cross Country Awards Announced > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    2012 SEC Cross Country Awards Announced

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Texas A&M’s Henry Lelei and Kentucky’s Cally Macumber were named the 2012 Southeastern Conference Cross Country Runners of the Year to highlight the 2012 SEC cross country awards, announced Friday morning. The awards were determined by a vote of the league’s cross country coaches.

    Lelei was named the Men’s Runner of the Year, while Macumber was honored as the Women’s Runner of the Year. Arkansas’ Cale Wallace earned SEC Men’s Freshman Runner of the Year honors, while Vanderbilt’s Hannah Jumper garnered SEC Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year recognition. Arkansas’ Chris Bucknam and Florida’s Paul Spangler were named the SEC Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Coaches of the Year, respectively.

    Lelei won the individual men’s title at the SEC Championship, bettering the field – which included defending champion Eric Fernandez of Arkansas, by 17.5 seconds. His time of 23:29.95 over the 8K course was the fifth-fastest winning time at an SEC meet since the 8K distance was first used in 1986 and bettered the previous course record of 24:10.60. He helped lead the Aggies to a third-place team finish with Missouri. During the season, he earned three SEC Runner of the Week honors.

    Macumber claimed the individual women’s title at the SEC Championship, winning the 6K race in a time of 20:23.29. She became the first Kentucky athlete to win an individual SEC cross country title since Valerie McGovern did so in 1989. She finished among the top-10 in each of the meets in which she competed this season and was a two-time SEC Runner of the Week. She finished the year as the SEC leader at both the 5K and 6K distances.

    Wallace was the top-finishing men’s freshman at the SEC Championship, placing 14th overall as the only freshman to finish inside the top 30 at the league meet. He logged an 8K career-best time of 24:17.79. Through the first four races of his collegiate career, Wallace finished within the Razorback scoring lineup on three occasions. He is the first Arkansas athlete to earn the honor since Bryan Cantero accomplished the feat in 2010.

    Jumper was the top-finishing women’s freshman at the SEC Championship, placing seventh overall. She clocked a time of 20:41.72 to finish better than 12 seconds ahead of the next freshman. She helped lead her Vanderbilt team to a third-place finish at the league championship. She has been in the Commodores’ top four all season long. Jumper is the first Vanderbilt athlete ever to garner the honor.

    Bucknam was named the SEC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year for the third consecutive year after leading the Arkansas men to their 20th SEC title in the last 22 seasons. The Razorbacks scored 35 total team points and placed three of their runners in the meet’s top-four.

    Spangler is in his first season as Florida’s assistant coach for distance and cross country and led the Gators to their third SEC women’s cross country title in the last four seasons. The Gators scored 61 total team points and placed three runners among the race’s top 15.

    For all of the latest information on SEC Cross Country, please log on to www.SECDigitalNetwork.com or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.

    2012 SEC Cross Country Awards
    Men's Runner of the Year: Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
    Men's Freshman Runner of the Year: Cale Wallace, Arkansas
    Men's Coach of the Year: Chris Bucknam, Arkansas
    Women's Runner of the Year: Cally Macumber, Kentucky
    Women's Freshman Runner of the Year: Hannah Jumper, Vanderbilt
    Women's Coach of the Year: Paul Spangler, Florida

    Men’s All-SEC First Team
    Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
    Solomon Haile, Arkansas
    Eric Fernandez, Arkansas
    Kemoy Campbell, Arkansas
    Matt Cleaver, Georgia
    Peter Okwera, Tennessee
    Mark Parrish, Florida

    Men’s All-SEC Second Team
    Hayden Legg, Missouri
    Max Storms, Missouri
    Luis Orta, Kentucky
    Bryant Blahnik, Missouri
    Layne Nixon, Arkansas
    Brandon Lord, Georgia
    Cale Wallace, Arkansas

    Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team
    Cale Wallace, Arkansas
    Joe McKenna, Missouri
    Evan Chiplock, Missouri
    Sid Vaughn, Georgia
    Tyler Schneider, Missouri
    Phil Duncan, Florida
    Steven Spevacek, Georgia

    Women’s All-SEC First Team
    Cally Macumber, Kentucky
    Florence Ngetich, Florida
    Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky
    Carly Hamilton, Georgia
    Grace Heymsfield, Arkansas
    Agata Strausa, Florida
    Hannah Jumper, Vanderbilt

    Women’s All-SEC Second Team
    Kristen Findley, Vanderbilt
    Katie Breathitt, Ole Miss
    Andrina Schlaepfer, Arkansas
    Diane Robison, Arkansas
    Laura Carleton, LSU
    Kayla Lampe, South Carolina
    Callie Cooper, Florida

    Women’s SEC All-Freshman Team
    Hannah Jumper, Vanderbilt
    Andrina Schlaepfer, Arkansas
    Kayla Lampe, South Carolina
    Katelyn Greenleaf, Alabama
    Shelby Davidson, Florida
    Alexis Panisse, Tennessee
    Julie Macedo, Florida