Coaches Pick Kentucky To Win SEC > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Coaches Pick Kentucky To Win SEC

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --  The Southeastern Conference unveiled its ninth annual women’s basketball preseason All-SEC first and second teams, Tuesday, to tip off the 2012-13 season of SEC women’s basketball.  In addition, the coaches voted on a predicted order of finish, overall champion and a preseason Player of the Year.

    Kentucky was predicted to win the Southeastern Conference women's basketball regular season championship with 167 votes.  Tthe reigning SEC regular season champions returns 10 letterwinners and four starters from last season’s NCAA Elite Eight squad, including 2012 SEC Player of the Year A’dia Mathies, 2012 SEC Freshman of the Year Bria Goss and 2012 NCAA Tournament Kingston All-Region team member Samarie Walker.  

    Kentucky, Georgia, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt, Tennessee, South Carolina and LSU round out the top half of the league with Florida, Arkansas, Auburn, Mississippi State, Alabama, Missouri and Ole Miss rounding out the lower half.

    Kentucky’s A’dia Mathies was the choice of the coaches for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with eight votes, the remaining votes were for Vanderbilt’s Christina Foggie and Georgia’s Anne Marie Armstrong.  

    Joining Mathies, Foggie and Armstrgon on the All-SEC First Team were Sarah Watkins (Arkansas), Jennifer George (Florida), Jasmine Hassell (Georgia), Meighan Simmons (Tennessee), Kelsey Bone (Texas A&M), and Jasmine Lister (Vanderbilt).

    Second team consists of Jasmine James (Georgia), Bria Goss (Kentucky), Samarie Walker (Kentucky), Adrienne Webb (LSU), Valencia McFarland (Ole Miss), Ieasia Walker (South Carolina), Ariel Massengale (Tennessee) and Tiffany Clarke (Vanderbilt).  

    Points were compiled on a 13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for order of prediction, while each player received two points for a first-team vote and one point for a second-team vote.  Ties were not broken and coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team or players.

    The complete listing of all honors follows.

    School                            POINTS
    1. Kentucky                       167
    2. Georgia                         149
    3. Texas A&M                    145
    4. Vanderbilt                      143
    5. Tennessee                    117
    6. South Carolina              102
    7. LSU                                 96
    8. Florida                             92
    9. Arkansas                        72
    10. Auburn                          57
    11. Mississippi State           51
    t12. Alabama                      33
    t12. Missouri                      33
    14. Ole Miss                       17

    Sarah Watkins, Arkansas
    Jennifer George, Florida
    Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia
    Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
    A’dia Mathies, Kentucky
    Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
    Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
    Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt
    Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt

    Jasmine James, Georgia
    Bria Goss, Kentucky
    Samarie Walker, Kentucky
    Adrienne Webb, LSU
    Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss
    Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
    Ariel Massengale, Tennessee
    Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt

    PLAYER OF THE YEAR                  POINTS
    A’dia Mathies, Kentucky                      9
    Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt                3
    Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia          1