Mathies, Foggie on Preseason Wooden Award List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Mathies, Foggie on Preseason Wooden Award List

    Los Angeles - The Los Angeles Athletic Club has announced its John R. Wooden Award Women’s Preseason Top 30 today, which is comprised of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year’s individual performance and team records, are the early front-runners for college basketball’s most prestigious honor. The list is chosen by a preseason poll of national college women’s basketball media members.

    Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the Preseason Top 30. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for January’s midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March. The National Ballot consists of 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.  The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation’s top five players, will be announced the week of the Final Four.
    The 37th annual Wooden Award ceremony will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners the weekend of April 5-7, 2013. It will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and will recognize the Legends of Coaching Award recipient Bill Self of Kansas.
    Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball.  It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA.  Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Candace Parker (’07 and ’08) and Maya Moore of Connecticut (’09 and ‘11).
    2012-13 John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 30 List, Women

    Name                    Height  Class  Position  University
    Alex Bentley            5-7     Sr.    G         Penn State
    Carolyn Davis           6-3     Sr.    F         Kansas
    Elena Delle Donne       6-5     Sr.    G/F       Delaware
    Skylar Diggins          5-9     Sr.    G         Notre Dame
    Jasmine Dixon           6-0     Sr.    F         UCLA
    Stefanie Dolson         6-5     Jr.    C         Connecticut
    Shante Evans            6-0     Sr.    F         Hofstra
    Christina Foggie        5-9     Jr.    G         Vanderbilt
    Chassidy Fussell        5-10    Jr.    G         Texas
    Angel Goodrich          5-4     Sr.    G         Kansas
    Chelsea Gray            5-11    Jr.    G         Duke
    Brittney Griner         6-8     Sr.    P         Baylor
    Bria Hartley            5-7     Jr.    G         Connecticut
    Tayler Hill             5-10    Sr.    G         Ohio State
    Jordan Hooper           6-2     Jr.    F         Nebraska
    Natasha Howard          6-3     Jr.    F         Florida State
    Maggie Lucas            5-9     Jr.    G         Penn State
    Tyaunna Marshall        5-9     Jr.    G         Georgia Tech
    Anna Martin             5-9     Sr.    G         DePaul
    A’dia Mathies           5-9     Sr.    G         Kentucky
    Laurin Mincy            6-0     Jr.    G         Maryland
    Lindsey Moore           5-9     Sr.    G         Nebraska
    Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis  6-0     So.    F         Connecticut
    Chiney Ogwumike         6-3     Jr.    F         Stanford
    Niveen Rasheed          6-0     Sr.    F         Princeton     
    Sugar Rodgers           5-11    Sr.    G         Georgetown     
    Shoni Schimmel          5-9     Jr.    G         Louisville     
    Odyssey Sims            5-9     Jr.    G         Baylor     
    Alyssa Thomas           6-2     Jr.    F         Maryland     
    Elizabeth Williams      6-3     So.    C         Duke