Rivalries Highlights Final Weekend Of Regular Season > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login
  •  

    Rivalries Highlights Final Weekend Of Regular Season

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Nov. 12, 2012) – Traditional rivalries, intra-conference and out of conference, highlight the final weekend of the 2012 Southeastern Conference football regular season.

    CBS Sports will televise the Iron Bowl, with Auburn visiting Alabama, at 3:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. CT).  This will be the 77th edition of the rivalry, with Alabama holding a 41-34-1 series lead.  Since 2000, seven of the 12 games played between the two teams have been decided by single digits.

    The 109th Egg Bowl will be played at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT) on ESPNU in Oxford with Ole Miss hosting Mississippi State.  The Rebels lead the series with the Bulldogs, 60-42-6, but State has won five of the last seven meetings against Ole Miss.

    The “Battle for the Golden Boot” kicks off the weekend with LSU visiting Arkansas on CBS Sports at 2:30 p.m. ET (1:30 p.m. CT) on Friday, Nov. 23.  The Tigers lead the series with the Razorbacks, 35-20-2.  Eight of the last 12 meetings have been decided by nine-points-or-less.

    The “Battle for the Barrel” between Kentucky and Tennessee will be on the SEC Network from Knoxville at 12:21 p.m. ET (11:21 a.m. CT).  This will be the 108th meeting between the two, in the third longest rivalry in the SEC, with Tennessee holding a 74-24-9 edge in the series.

    Missouri visits Texas A&M in a battle of SEC newcomers.  The game will be televised either on ESPN or ESPN2 at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT).  The Aggies lead the series with the Tigers, 7-5.  In last year’s meeting, Missouri defeated A&M, 38-31, in overtime in College Station.

    In non-conference rivalries, Georgia Tech visits Georgia at noon ET (11 a.m. CT) on ESPN.  This will be the 103rd meeting of the two teams, with the Bulldogs holding a 61-37-5 series advantage.  

    Nov. 23-24 SEC Football Schedule

    Friday, Nov. 23

    LSU (9-2, 5-2 SEC) at Arkansas (4-7, 2-5 SEC)
    1:30 p.m. CT • CBS Sports
    Fayetteville, Ark. • Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium (72,000)

    Saturday, Nov. 24

    Georgia Tech (6-5) at Georgia (10-1, 7-1 SEC)
    12 p.m. ET • ESPN
    Athens, Ga. • Sanford Stadium (92,746)

    Kentucky (2-9, 0-7 SEC) at Tennessee (4-7, 0-7 SEC)
    12:21 p.m. ET • SEC Network
    Knoxville, Tenn. • Neyland Stadium / Shields-Watkins Field (102,455)

    Auburn (3-8, 0-7 SEC) at Alabama (10-1, 6-1 SEC)
    2:30 p.m. CT • CBS Sports
    Tuscaloosa, Ala. • Bryant-Denny Stadium (101,821)

    Vanderbilt (7-4, 5-3 SEC) at Wake Forest (5-6)
    2:30 p.m. CT • ESPNU
    Winston-Salem, N.C. • BB&T Field (31,500)

    Florida (10-1, 7-1 SEC) at Florida State (10-1)
    3:30 p.m. ET • ABC Sports
    Tallahassee, Fla. • Doak Campbell Stadium (82,300)

    Mississippi State (8-3, 4-3 SEC) at Ole Miss (5-6, 2-5 SEC)
    6 p.m. CT • ESPNU
    Oxford, Miss. • Vaught-Hemingway Stadium / Hollingsworth Field (60,580)

    Missouri (5-6, 2-5 SEC) at Texas A&M (9-2, 5-2 SEC)
    6 p.m. CT • ESPN2
    College Station, Texas • Kyle Field (82,589)

    South Carolina (9-2, 6-2 SEC) at Clemson (10-1)
    7 p.m. ET • ESPN
    Clemson, S.C. • Clemson Memorial Stadium (82,500)