Two Former SEC Pitchers Claim Cy Young Awards > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two Former SEC Pitchers Claim Cy Young Awards


    Former Southeastern Conference star pitchers David Price (Vanderbilt) and R.A. Dickey (Tennessee) were voted Cy Young Award winners, as the best pitchers in the American and National Leagues respectively, announced the Baseball Writers Association of America on Wednesday.

    Price went 20-5 with a Major League leading 2.54 earned run average for the Tampa Bay Rays this season.  He is the first 20-game winner in Rays history and, at 27 years of age, is the youngest 20-game winner since 2004.   He is 61-31 finishing his fifth MLB season with a 3.16 career ERA.  He has been an all-star in three of his five seasons in Tampa.

    In his 2012 season, Dickey used his knuckleball to set new career bests in games started (33), wins (20), complete games (5), shutouts (3), innings pitched (233.2), strikeouts (230), ERA (2.73), WHIP (1.05), and BAA (.226).  He led the National League in strikeouts this season and became the first pitcher in MLB history to throw consecutive one-hitters while striking out 10+ batters in each game.   In his 10-year MLB career, he is 61-56 with a 3.98 ERA. 

    At Vanderbilt, Price was a three-year letterman, earning the Dick Howser Trophy in his junior and final season.  He was 22-10 in his college career with 441 strikeouts in 313 innings pitched.  He was also a first-team All-SEC and All-America performer and participated on the 2006 USA World University Games Team.

    Dickey, who was inducted into the Tennessee Baseball Hall of Fame in January, is the only three-time First Team All-American in Tennessee baseball history earning the honors each year from 1994-96. He was also a two-time first team All-SEC selection and an academic All-American following his junior year. In addition, he was a member of the bronze-medal winning 1996 Team USA Olympic team in Atlanta.

    Below are the list of Major League Baseball honors given to former SEC athletes by the Baseball Writers Association of America:
    Cy Young
    2006 - Brandon Webb, Kentucky (NL - Diamondbacks)
    2008 - Cliff Lee, Arkansas (AL - Indians)
    2012 - R.A. Dickey, Tennessee (NL - Mets)
    2012 - David Price, Vanderbilt (AL - Rays)
    1993 - Frank Thomas, Auburn (AL - White Sox)
    1994 - Frank Thomas, Auburn (AL - White Sox)
    Rookie of the Year
    1948 - Alvin Dark, LSU (MLB - Braves)
    1989 - Gregg Olson, Auburn (AL - Orioles)
    Manager of the Year
    1994 - Buck Showalter, Mississippi State (AL - Yankees)
    2004 - Buck Showalter, Mississippi State (AL - Rangers)