Five On Naismith Women’s Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Five On Naismith Women’s Watch List

    ATLANTA (Nov. 15, 2012) – Five Southeastern Conference players are on the 2012‐2013 Naismith women’s early season watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.
    The 50 player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012‐2013 college basketball season. The Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 8, 2013, in New Orleans, La.
    “With so much returning talent this year, anticipation and excitement for women’s college basketball season among fans, players and coaches is extremely high,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We look forward to watching these student‐athletes compete and prove to the nation that they deserve to be recognized as the best women’s college basketball player in 2013.”
    “AT&T is honored to continue its support of this ongoing tradition and this class of emerging talent,” said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “These promising student‐athletes will make for a competitive race and contribute to another exciting season of women’s college basketball.”
    In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid‐season team of the top 30 players in the nation. In March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.
    Notable Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Rebecca Lobo, and Tina Charles. The Naismith women’s Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the women’s college basketball player of the year.
    For more information, visit
    Complete Watch List:
    Armstrong Anne Marie Senior G/F Georgia
    Bentley Alex Senior G Penn State
    Bone Kelsey Junior C Texas A&M
    Butler Heather Junior G University of Tennessee‐Martin
    Clarendon Layshia Senior G California
    Davis Carolyn Senior F Kansas
    Delle Donne Elena Senior F Delaware
    Diggins Skylar Senior G Notre Dame
    Dolson Stefanie Junior C Connecticut
    Ellenberg Aaryn Junior G Oklahoma
    Evans Shante Senior F Hofstra
    Faris Kelly Senior G Connecticut
    Foggie Christina Junior G Vanderbilt
    Fussell Chassidy Junior G Texas
    George Jennifer Senior F Florida
    Goodrich Angel Senior G Kansas
    Gray Chelsea Junior G Duke
    Griner Brittney Senior C Baylor
    Hand Whitney Senior G Oklahoma
    Hartley Bria Junior G Connecticut
    Hawkins Tianna Senior F Maryland
    Hill Tayler Senior G Ohio State
    Hooper Jordan Junior F Nebraska
    Howard Natasha Junior F Florida State
    Jones Kortni Senior G Middle Tennessee State
    Lucas Maggie Junior G Penn State
    Luper Kevi Senior G Oral Roberts
    Marshall Ty Junior G Georgia Tech
    Martin Anna Senior G DePaul
    Mathies A'dia Senior G Kentucky
    McBride Kayla Junior G Notre Dame
    McKenith Nadirah Senior G St. John's
    Mincy Lauren Junior G Maryland
    Moore Lindsey Senior G Nebraska
    Mosqueda‐Lewis Kaleena Sophomore F Connecticut
    Ogwumike Chiney Junior F Stanford
    Oliver Monique Senior F/C Rutgers
    Poppens Chelsea Senior F Iowa State
    Rasheed Niveen Senior F Princeton
    Reid Monique Senior F Louisville
    Rodgers Sugar Senior G Georgetown
    Rowe Ebony Junior F Middle Tennessee State
    Schimmel Shoni Junior G Louisville
    Shafir Naama Senior G Toledo
    Sims Odyssey Junior G Baylor
    Smith Shenneika Senior G St. John's
    Stewart Breanna Freshman F Connecticut
    Thomas Alyssa Junior F Maryland
    Walker Markel Senior G/F UCLA
    Williams Elizabeth Sophomore C Duke