Clowney Named Hendricks Award Winner > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Clowney Named Hendricks Award Winner

    CHICAGO, ILL. (December 5, 2012) -- The Ted Hendricks Foundation is proud to announce the winner of the 2012 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award. In a season that has seen much drama and suspense among the leaders in the NCAA rankings, a rare occurrence has come to pass in the ranks of the defensive end. In fact, this is a first-time occurrence! A sophomore has won the award for the nation's top defensive end.

    Jadeveon Clowney of the University of South Carolina is the Award's 11th winner. Clowney claimed nearly two-thirds of the final-round votes, which is a new record. The five other finalists included Morgan Breslin from Southern California, Tank Carradine and Bjoern Werner from Florida State, Sam Montgomery from LSU and Damontre Moore from Texas A&M.

    Clowney is a record-setter in several respects this season. In addition to his record vote share for this award, he set new South Carolina standards for sacks in a season (13.0), tackles for loss in a season (21.5) and sacks in a single game (4.5 vs Clemson). All of this came as a follow-up to his extremely successful freshman season, when Clowney totaled eight sacks and 12 tackles for loss. At the conclusion of the 2011 season Clowney was named Southeast Conference Freshman of the Year by the SEC coaches and earned First-Team Freshman All-America honors from seven different media organizations.