SEC Players Win Five at College Football Awards > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Players Win Five at College Football Awards

    By Tim Letcher
    Twitter: @TimLetcher
    SEC Digital Network

    Southeastern Conference players took home five awards from the 2012 Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday night in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

    Texas A&M freshman phenom Johnny Manziel won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's best quarterback. Manziel is also a finalist for Saturday night's Heisman Trophy.

    Manziel's ace blocker, Luke Joeckel, won the Outland Trophy, which is given annually to the nation's top interior lineman.

    Alabama center Barrett Jones was recognized with two awards. Jones won the Rimington Trophy, which is given to the nation's top center each season. Jones also won the William V. Campbell Trophy, which was actually awarded to him on Tuesday. The Campbell Trophy is an academic success award.

    Mississippi State's ball-hawking defensive back Johnthan Banks won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back.

    Davey O'Brien Award: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
    Outland Trophy: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
    Jim Thorpe Award: Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
    Rimington Trophy: Barrett Jones, Alabama
    William V. Campbell Trophy: Barrett Jones, Alabama