Lodge, Perinovic Named Second-Team All-Midwest Region > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Lodge, Perinovic Named Second-Team All-Midwest Region

    Dec. 10, 2012

    LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Kentucky men’s soccer senior Matt Lodge and junior Steven Perinovic have been selected second-team All-Midwest Region by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, it was announced on Monday afternoon.

    Lodge and Perinovic were each selected to the second team, becoming the 38th and 39th all-time NSCAA All-Region honorees in UK history. Lodge has earned All-Midwest Region honors for the last three seasons, including third-team honors in 2011.

    A native of Rossington, England, Lodge totaled seven goals and three assists in 21 games as a senior co-captain in 2012. The 5-foot-11 midfielder and forward helped lead the Wildcats back to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2004, as UK hosted Xavier in the first round. In his career, Lodge netted 24 goals and 18 assists, while firing a school-record 209 shots. He finished his career ranked sixth in points (66), fourth in goals, third in game-winning goals (nine) and third in assists.

    Perinovic, a native of Delafield, Wis., had a breakout season at center back for the Wildcats, helping to anchor the UK backline in 21 starts. Perinovic started all 21 games and logged a team-high 1,892 minutes with one goal and 11 shots. The defender has played in 59 games with 53 starts in his career, with a goal and two assists. His first-career goal came in a win over East Tennessee State in 2012.

    The Wildcats completed a 10-win season in 2012 with the fifth NCAA Tournament berth in program history, hosting just the second NCAA Tournament game in UK annals. UK opened up the year with a 1-4 mark under first-year head coach Johan Cedergren, before running off a 9-5-2 mark to conclude the season over the final 16 games.

    Kentucky All-Region Honorees
    2012: Matt Lodge, Steven Perinovic
    2011: Dylan Asher, Matt Lodge
    2010: Dylan Asher, Matt Lodge
    2009: Jason Griffiths, Barry Rice, Dan Williams
    2008: Jason Griffiths, Barry Rice, Dan Williams
    2007: Barry Rice
    2006: Michael D’Agostino, Riley O’Neill
    2005: Andy Guenebaum
    2004: Jamal Shteiwi, Brandon Stewart
    2003: Jamal Shteiwi
    2002: Nathan Fleetwood, Jamal Shteiwi
    2001: Ilkka Jantti, John Monebrake
    2000: Ilkka Jantti
    1999: Lee Baker, Giovanni Fernandes, Illka Jantti
    1998: Lee Baker, Giovanni Fernandes, Ilkka Jantti
    1997: Brien Baltzell, Sean Mondelli
    1996: Sean Endicott, Sean Mondelli
    1995: Brian Dausman, Todd Weissmueller
    1994: Brian Dausman, Tim Fisk
    1993: Greg Kotzbauer