Richardson A Bobby Bowden Award Finalist > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Richardson A Bobby Bowden Award Finalist

    Dec. 11, 2012

    NEW ORLEANS, La. - University of Southern California quarterback Matt Barkley, Auburn University linebacker Ashton Richardson and Ohio State University defensive end John Simon have been named finalists for the 2012 Bobby Bowden Award, presented by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes to the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision player who best epitomizes a student-athlete.

    The award is named for former Florida State University football coach Bobby Bowden, and conceived by former Bowden assistant coach Vince Gibson, who died in 2012 from Lou Gehrig's disease, and Vernon Brinson, who played for Coach Bowden at South Georgia College in the 1950s. The award is sponsored by Jon Khachaturian owner of Versabar, "The Power of Engineering Delivered."

    In order to be nominated for the Bobby Bowden Award, a player must conduct himself as a faith role model in the classroom, on the field, on the campus and in the community. Nominees must have at least a 3.0 grade point average and have the backing of their school's athletics director and head football coach.

    Barkley is a four-year starter at USC and has been named the 2012 Wuerffel Award winner. He is also listed as a finalist for the Manning Award. Barkley carries a 3.2 GPA as a communications major.

    Richardson is a senior and a three year letter winner at Auburn. Richardson is a Rhodes Scholar finalist and a three-time member of the All-SEC honor roll. He owns a 3.95 GPA in equine studies.

    Simon is a four-year starter for the Buckeyes. He was on the watch list for the Lombardi Award, the Nagurski Award and the Bednarik Award, and owns a 3.0 GPA in sports and leisure studies.

    The 2012 Bobby Bowden Award winner will be announced at the FCA Bowl Championship Series site in Miami on January 4, 2013. Past winners are:

    Year Winner Institution

    2003 Jason Wright Northwestern University

    2004 Billy Bajema Oklahoma State University



    2005 D. J. Shockley University of Georgia

    2006 Carl Pendleton University of Oklahoma

    2007 Jacob Tamme University of Kentucky

    2008 Stephen McGee Texas A&M

    2009 Colt McCoy University of Texas

    2010 Christian Ponder Florida State University

    2011 Case Keenum University of Houston

    2012 Nominees Institution Matt Barkley University of Southern California; Copper Bassett Oklahoma State University; Steve Bigach University of Iowa; Justin Blanchford Univeristy of Nebraska; Dylan Breeding Univeristy of Arkansas; Lyle Dankenbring University of Central Florida; Akeem Davis University of Memphis; Seth Doege Texas Tech University; Nick Florance Baylor University; Justin Green University of Illinois; Ben Pike University of Toledo; Sean Renfree Duke University; Ashton Richardson Auburn University; Andrew Ritter University of Mississippi; John Simon Ohio State University; Luke Stansfield Western Kentucky University; Tucker Tipton Air Force; Cody Wilson Central Michigan University; Corico Wright Clemson University

    - -

    About FCA The Fellowship of Christian Athletes is touching millions of heart at a time. Since 1954, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes has been challenging coaches and athletes on the professional, college, high school, junior high and youth levels to use the powerful medium of athletics to impact the world for Jesus Christ. FCA is the largest Christian sports organization in the world. FCA focuses on serving local communities by equipping, empowering and encouraging people to make a difference for Christ.