SEC Names 2013 Eastern Division Women's Legends > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Names 2013 Eastern Division Women's Legends

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Jan. 3, 2013) – The Southeastern Conference 2013 Class of Women’s Legends showcases former student-athletes from all 14 SEC member institutions.  

    The conference is announcing the legends from its Eastern Division schools today while the Western Division schools will be announced on January 10.  Each legend will then be celebrated individually on each Sunday and Thursday between January 13 and February 28.

    The class will be honored at the 2013 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament, March 6-10 in Duluth, Ga.  Each legend will be honored during half-time of their teams first game of the tournament, all 14 individuals will also be honored as a group during the half-time of  the first semifinal games on March 9. The Greats will then participate in an autograph session on the concourse between the two games.  Complimentary posters of the Greats will be available at the session.  

    Below is the list of the 2013 SEC Women’s Legends representing Eastern Division institutions:

    FLORIDA –  Sophia Witherspoon, Basketball, 1988-91

    GEORGIA – Kiesha Brown, Basketball, 1996-97; 1998-2001

    KENTUCKY – Jenny Hansen, Gymnastics, 1993-96

    MISSOURI – Joni Davis, Basketball, 1982-85

    SOUTH CAROLINA – Lashinda Demus, Track&Field, 2002-04

    TENNESSEE –  Kyra Elzy, Basketball, 1996-2001

    TEXAS A&M – Kelly Krauskopf, Basketball,  1980-83

    VANDERBILT – Ashley McElhiney, Basketball, 1999-2003