Two SEC Athletes on Preseason Bowerman Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two SEC Athletes on Preseason Bowerman Watch List

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Two Southeastern Conference track and field athletes – Auburn’s Harry Adams and Florida’s Omar Craddock have been named to the men’s preseason watch list for The Bowerman, collegiate track and field’s highest honor, the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced Wednesday. Additionally, Arkansas’ Andrew Irwin has been named to the list of athletes “also receiving mention” for The Bowerman.

    The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation.

    Adams finished as runner-up in the 100 meters at the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Championships, recording a 2012 collegiate-best 9.96 in the semifinals. His time of 9.96 made him the fifth-fastest American in 2012 and the 14th-fastest in the world, and he was the only collegian to run the 100 in fewer than 10 seconds. He also won the 200 meters at the Miami Hurricane Alumni Invitational earlier in the season in 20.10, making him the fastest collegian in the event. That mark put him third among Americans and 10th in the world in 2012.

    Craddock won 2012 NCAA triple jump individual championships both indoors and outdoors. He captured the indoor title with a mark of 54-11½ (16.75m), which made him the top collegian and the fifth-best American of 2012. He claimed the outdoor triple jump with a wind-aided mark of 55-6¼ (16.92m). Craddock is a three-time indoor All-American and a two-time outdoor All-American in the triple jump. He finished fourth in the triple jump at the 2012 U.S. Olympics Team Trials, narrowly missing an Olympic berth.

    Southern Utah’s Cam Levins and LSU’s Kimberlyn Duncan are the reigning winners of The Bowerman, which is named for legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman.

    Bowerman served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA’s predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.

    For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit

    For all of the latest information on SEC Track and Field, please log on to or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.

    The Bowerman Official Watch List – Preseason 2013 Men

    • Harry Adams, Auburn
    • Curtis Beach, Duke
    • Jordan Clarke, Arizona State
    • Omar Craddock, Florida
    • Derek Drouin, Indiana
    • Tim Glover, Illinois State
    • Kennedy Kithuka, Texas Tech
    • Erik Kynard, Kansas State
    • Lawi Lalang, Arizona
    • Alexander Ziegler, Virginia Tech

    Also Receiving Mention

    • Andrew Bayer, Indiana
    • Mike Berry, Oregon
    • Diego Estrada, Northern Arizona
    • Andrew Irwin, Arkansas
    • Jack Whitt, Oral Roberts
    • Chad Wright, Nebraska