SEC Announces Women's Legends Class > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Announces Women's Legends Class

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Jan. 3, 2013) – The Southeastern Conference 2013 Class of Women’s Legends showcases former student-athletes from all 14 SEC member institutions.  Prior to the season, Ole Miss self-imposed a postseason ban that includes the SEC Tournament.  Therefore, the school will not be represented with a legend this year.

    The conference is announcing the legends from its Western Division schools today while the Eastern Division schools were announced on January 3.  Each legend will then be celebrated individually on each Sunday and Thursday between January 13 and February 28.

    The class will be honored at the 2013 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament, March 6-10 in Duluth, Ga.  Each legend will be honored during half-time of their teams first game of the tournament, all 14 individuals will also be honored as a group during the half-time of the first semifinal games on March 9. The Greats will then participate in an autograph session on the concourse between the two games.  Complimentary posters of the Greats will be available at the session.  

    Below is the list of the 2013 SEC Women’s Legends representing Western Division institutions:

    ALABAMA – Dominique Canty, Basketball, 1996-99

    ARKANSAS – Blair Savage-Lansden, Basketball, 1989-93

    AUBURN – Becky Jackson, Basketball, 1980-84

    LSU – Sandra Smith-Thompson, Gymnastics, 1980-83

    MISSISSIPPI STATE – Alexis Rack, Basketball, 2006-2010

    TEXAS A&M – Kelly Krauskopf, Basketball, 1980-83