Reigning Bowerman Winner Duncan Returns To Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Reigning Bowerman Winner Duncan Returns To Watch List

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – LSU sprinter Kimberlyn Duncan, the 2012 recipient of The Bowerman, collegiate track and field’s highest honor, has been named to the women’s preseason watch list for the 2013 award, the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced Thursday. Additionally, Georgia pole vaulter Morgann Leleux and Auburn sprinter Kai Selvon have been named to the list of athletes “also receiving mention” for The Bowerman.

    In December, Duncan became the first athlete in Southeastern Conference history to take home The Bowerman award. She is the first student-athlete in the five-year history of the award to compete collegiately after having previously won the award, setting her up to potentially become the first multi-time winner of the prestigious honor.

    Duncan won the 200 meters at both the indoor and outdoor NCAA Championships in 2011 and 2012, making her the first woman to accomplish that feat. Her outdoor NCAA 200 finals time was 22.19, fourth-best among Americans in 2012.

    Duncan was untouchable in the 200 in 2012, winning all six finals indoor and four more outdoor, en route to an individual SEC Championship in the indoor and outdoor 200, and the outdoor 100, in which she ran a 10.96, making her the fifth-fastest American in the event in 2012. She also garnered USTFCCCA Outdoor National Track Athlete of the Year and Honda Sport Award honors for women’s track and field.

    The Bowerman is named for legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman. Bowerman served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA’s predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.

    For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit

    For all of the latest information on SEC Track and Field, please log on to or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.

    The Bowerman Official Watch List – Preseason 2013 Women
    Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
    Tia Brooks, Oklahoma
    Diamond Dixon, Kansas
    Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
    Katie Flood, Washington
    English Gardner, Oregon
    Georganne Moline, Arizona
    Betsy Saina, Iowa State
    Brittany Smith, Illinois State
    Ashley Spencer, Illinois

    Also Receiving Mention
    Emma Coburn, Colorado
    Octavious Freeman, UCF
    Andrea Geubelle, Kansas
    Jordan Hasay, Oregon
    Morgann Leleux, Georgia
    Kai Selvon, Auburn