Florida Picked To Win SEC Women’s Tennis Title > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Florida Picked To Win SEC Women’s Tennis Title

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --  The Southeastern Conference announced the women’s tennis coaches preseason poll, Friday.  Many of the teams will see action this weekend as dual season began, the official ITA kick-off begins next weekend.

    The Florida Gators were picked as the overall champion for the fourth consecutive year.  Last season, the Gators went 27-1, 11-0 in the SEC.  They won the regular season SEC title as well as the SEC Tournament title.  The Gators also won their second consecutive women’s tennis title by defeating Michigan in the Round of 16, 4-0; Miami, 4-0 in the quarterfinals; and Duke 4-3 in the semfinals before finally defeating UCLA, 4-0 for the Gators sixth title.

    Florida was also voted as Eastern Division Champion with 98 points.   Georgia was second (83 points) with Vanderbilt coming in at third (62 points).  The remainder of the East was: 4. Tennessee (61 points), 5. South Carolina (44 points), 6. Kentucky (23 points), and Missouri (21 points).
    In the West, Texas A&M was voted as Division Champion with 94 points.  Alabama was voted second (88 points) with Ole Miss third (66 points).  The remainder of the West was: 4. Arkansas (47 points), 5. Auburn (46 points), 6. LSU (34 points), and Mississippi State (17 points).
    The preseason poll is voted on by the women’s tennis head coach at each institution and is based on a 7-6-5-4-3-2-1 count in each division. They also vote for the overall champion, with each vote counting as one point.

    The complete tally for the poll is below.

    2013 Women’s Tennis Coaches Preseason Poll

    Eastern Division               Points                   

    1. Florida                             98
    2. Georgia                           83
    3. Vanderbilt                        62
    4. Tennessee                     61
    5. South Carolina              44
    6. Kentucky                         23
    7. Missouri                          21

    Western Division            Points
    1. Texas A&M                      94
    2. Alabama                         88
    3. Ole Miss                          66
    4. Arkansas                        47           
    5. Auburn                             46
    6. LSU                                  34
    7. Mississippi State           17

    Overall Regular Season Champion:  Florida (13 points), Texas A&M (1)